Bank Valuation - how often high or low?

Hi all

I apologise for what may seem like a pretty basic question to some, but I am pretty new to this game.

I'm in the process of buying a PPOR. The bank has ordered their valuation and it has come back spot on what we are paying - to the dollar.

Is this a fairly standard outcome? How often do valuations come back higher or lower than the sale amount? Should I be taking this as comfort that we are paying a fair price?

I find it a little strange that it has come back to the dollar. When they do the valuation are they saying "this is my opinion of what the property is worth, regardless of what your contract says" or are they saying "we've looked at what you are paying and we think it is about right"?

Thanks

Standard outcome. Even if the valuer thinks it is worth more, they will not go above purchase price. But valuations do come less than the purchase price.

Yeah, they're basically saying "Yep, they're not paying more than its worth".

I'd be surprised if anyone had had a valuation come back which suggested the purchaser has snagged a place well below its value. Thought it could happen. Anyone heard of this?

Understand the difference between a purchase and a refinance?

For a purchase, unless there's something really wrong with it, valuation will be what ever figure is on the contract. Ie, if thats what someone is prepared to pay thats what it must be worth.

For refinance, val has to compare against similar properties and as such you may be (un)pleasantly surprised :)

There are a lot of valuations that have come back under the COS price. Places like Ipswich, Sydney Metro, Perth, etc. Be very careful with this.

Some lenders like ME Bank (if under a mil) and ANZ (on some occasions) will not order a valuation and just take the COS price.

A valuation will never come back higher than the COS price. The only time this can happen is with an OTP.