Best saver accounts?

Hi,

I have been looking for a good high interest saving account for my first property. Can anyone tell me what is the best out there!?

I plan to buy in 12 - 24 months and can put away 350-$500 p/wk. I'll be starting at zero, unless I sell some stock. Though, I'd prefer not to. I see most are $5,000 min..

way better hey....you must be on loan rates of 4.5% or less then ;)

ps thanks for the info on the TOC vals without a construction loan on the other post.

7%! Damn, I'm putting the kid's pocket money in the wrong place. I think she's getting 3% right now.

But then the bank I'm with charges $1 per external transaction and $0 for internal ones so transferring $12 a week to another bank ... hmmm. There goes 8% straight away.

Screw interest, I gotta find a fee-free bank account. My credit union sucks. :(

So sorry for not being clear, I'm new to all these forums.

It's all off the books, so I hope it's under the ATO gift ruling. Therefore, you have to trust them. But better for the family member who might be paying 6+% to the bank. Then again, they might just run off with your money. Oh well...

Kristine - the account that the child has is fee free and earns about 3%. The account that *I* have gets hit $1 per external transaction, eg transferring money to another bank. So if I opened a dollarmite account I'd get the $1 a transaction unless I changed to a different bank myself. While she's with the same CU as me its all free.

The fees on this account have slowly crept up since I joined it. I was getting about $30 a month in fees until I moved all my direct debits to our fee free account that came with the mortgage (which we lose any day now) and now I get about $4 a month in external payment and bpay charges instead. I use it to pay infrequent large bills like council rates, water, electricity, car rego, car servicing etc.