Books

As a result of new flooring I've had to move all my books out of the study and back in again. I've taken the opportunity to throw out hundreds of books. Lifeline will get far more use from them.

Which led me to reflect on the amount I money I wasted on books in my younger days. Instead of all that money on books, I could have invested, and would have been in a far better position than I am now. I could have been very comfortably off.

With enough money to buy more books.

But think of all the entertainment, education and enlightenment you received from reading and enjoying those books, Geoff.

Books are wonderful.

:)
Caroline
(disclosure - I'm an author. Without people buying books, I wouldn't be)

I have plenty of books too and still buy a couple of year.

However, I have come to realise that you learn more by doing rather than reading. So now I definitely do and act more. I spend less time reading now and mostly read to maintain a continuation of mindset.

I have also spent alot of money on books... but I really only read novels, and primarily for when I'm going on business trips. So, most books I've read I either give away to business colleagues who want to read english books, or leave in airport lounges for someone else to enjoy.
But I do have some special older books. When my mum died earlier this year, my "priority" from her estate was her collection of Anne of Green Gables books. As we were going through the house, and her many, many possessions, there were no sign of them and I was so worried that they'd been thrown out. But I think they were literally the last thing we found. They are a treasure to me. (I'm lucky, there was no competition for the books, because I only have brothers!! ;) )

I'm loving our Kindle. My daughter reads a huge amount, and I would if I had time... and not only is the cost much lower per book, it obviously doesnt take up any space.

But I'm with Lily House, money on books is well spent.. if you read them!