Costs to replace natural gas heater

I am a bit confused, and I will say I have limited experience, however I have seen the odd house, that gas a plug type gas point in a living area, which I assumed was for the type of heater you listed, that just plugs in. So where does the $3k come from.

3k! You should be able to get a whole ducted system done for that price!
If it is a straight change over, $500 is heaps for labour. So maybe $1700-2000.

One of my gas heaters in an ip has broken down

Its this style

http://www.harveynorman.com.au/rinnai-spectrum-space-natural-gas-heater-inbuilt-metallic-brown.html

what sort of costs are we looking at for installation? got a quote for $3k inclusive of a unit, which seems very very excessive,

I was thinking of simply installing a split system, the last split system I managed to get it done for about $1200 installed

One of those you can get cheaper under 1k but I would go gumtree or ebay and get a good second hand around $200 to $300.

Depending where the house is located, heating can be a deciding factor when it comes to tenants choosing a house to rent.

In Canberra a house with gas heating would be considered much more favourably than a house with a split system.

thansk everyone, its apparently broken down since the new tenant moved in, they said it hasnt worked from day one, even though the previous tenant was using it......

and yes the area is a bit cold but I will need to replace it

so it seems everyone is recommending that I buy it second hand,

and yes you guys are right, I just checked my friendsd gas heater and it plugs into the damn wall!!!!!

Never, ever install second hand. You're lucky if they come with a 3 month warranty and they don't last. A new heater will come with a longer warranty, up to 5 years! Second hand appliances never save you the money you expect they will.