Deposit question

Hi all,

I've read through some of "Word of caution for the newbies." and hopefully that wasn't aimed at someone like me. I am genuinely interested in property investment, in fact I put in an offer on the weekend and left a small holding deposit for my first IP.

*edit - sorry I know I'm a newbie in category #1 and the info in the post was aimed to help me, my point was only that my interest here is genuine.

I have a question on the deposit payable on agreement and banks sign off of the deal, the standard 10%. I notice most in here aim for 5% or lower, is this only for cash flow / credit reasons? I have offered to pay the 10% because I can, if settlement falls through I will get all this back though won't I?

Either the REA or vendors solicitor will hold this in trust, yes?

My offer was rejected but we've renegotiated a price verbally and I will sign a new contract note this week, I could always say I now want 5%.

Any help appreciated.

Cheers

The holding deposit is different to the bank deposit - one is usually $1000, the other is as big as you want to make it.

Make sure you sign the contract/offer subject to finance.

The money is better off working for you offsetting your existing loan interest rather than sitting in a trust fund for X amount of time so negotiate for a smaller deposit but don't be so attached as to let a great deal go by. Pay the 10% if needs be but otherwise negotiate for less - but it may be too late for you now. :)

Thankyou for the replies, I had hoped to reply myself before now but I've finally purchased my first IP using the advice I've received and read on these forums so thankyou.

I have the deposit and no other loans, the funds are just sitting in an account waiting so I left it as the 10%. I'll lose a little interest but it's not that significant in the overall scheme of things, I just wanted to see if people negotiated lower on the deposit for other reasons.

Cheers

hi Qinau