Depreciation schedule - who uses the experts?

What do you do re depreciation when you get an IP?

• I use a depreciation firm

Votes: 61 87.1%
  • My accountant draws up a schedule

Votes: 7 10.0%
  • I do it myself

Votes: 2 2.9%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
I'm new to all this and have just bought 2 IPs. 1 is about 19 years old, the other I would guess about 10 years older. I'm interested to learn what other people do when they get a new IP re depreciation. I mentioned getting a QS to look at the place to my accountant and his response was "there's no need to do that" (perhaps so that he can come up with a dep schedule and charge me for it?!)

If the properties were built after July 85 (and it sounds like they were), you'll be able to depreciate the original cost of the building. Your accountant won't be able to arrive at that figure - accountants don't have the relevant expertise as set out in the legislation. Lots of accountants used to guess it, but the ATO has been saying to them for a years that they have to stop doing this. When it's just Assets (fixtures and fittings) anybody can really have a stab at the value.
But I am biased.
Scott

depreciation schedule

In response to depreciation schedules, and their obvious importance, can anyone please recommend me a good quantity surveyer in South Australia?
-Taz

Hi,

Have used Washington Brown to prepare depreciation schedules for my IP's. Found them to be very professional and saved us in tax. All the best.

Regards Jingo.

Have used both and my experience and additional information acquired through using them has been most informative and worthwhile.

Can recommend both most highly. :)

But I am biased.
Scott
I'm Biased too!!!

I have argued in this space that the use of QS (Good one) can enhance your claim. Julia (Bantacs) has quite rightly suggested that a QS is not ALWAYS needed...