Did you have a very clear goal when you bought your first IP?

When you guys bought your first IP did you have a very clear plan or very well defined short/long term goals?

Do you think you can buy your first IP in a reasonable area that you're familiar with and just play it by ear with no definite short/long term goals?
I always thought I'd like something that can provide rental income in the future as well as some capital growth in case I choose to sell it later on.
As I've never done this before I don't know what I'm going to encounter on my journey or how many IP's I'll be able to afford (hoping I don't get stuck on just 1). That's why I don't really have a very clear and defined strategy.

As many of you already know, I'm in the process of looking for a PPOR. Once that is done I would like to start looking into purchasing an IP perhaps 12 months later (if the bank doesn't think i'm crazy!).

So have any of you just played it by ear and seen how you go and what you can afford to do along the way? Or did you have a very clear plan all mapped out? There's only 1 income to play with too as I'm a single parent.
I don't want to send myself insane with too much analysis or I'll never buy anything!

Would love to hear your experiences.

Hi Chloe,

10 years ago my wife and I built a house as our first home and PPOR, this really stretched our incomes at the time to afford servicing the loan and making ends meet

I had been exploring ways of creating an alternative income to working till 65 aswell as trying to relieve the mortgage stress we had created for ourselves.

I did some number crunching and with the help of a good broker back then discovered that by keeping the house we had built and turning it into an IP and buying a smaller established PPOR that we could own 2 houses and have it be a smaller burden on our cash flow month to month!!