Due Diligence

Now, this may sound silly but as a newbie I feel I have the right to sound silly at least once on here :eek: I am looking at buying a town house as my first IP. When it comes to conducting Due Diligence, would you guys and gals have a checklist you go through before making a purchase? Of course I know part of it will be carried out by the convayancer doing the various searches. But what about the other things I should look into before going forward with a purchase? Any ideas would be much appreciated!!:)

Check the body corporate records. Make sure that there is money in the sinking fund, and that they haven't spent gazzilions on hidden problems, or are about to. If they have plans to fix common areas, you could be up for extra costs.

Don't know if that helps.

Cheers

V

Hi Bojangles

Are you looking at a specific townhouse that you can put figures on here for or is it a general question? They won't all have strata fees the ones I have just built have their own torrens titles.

Hi sparky, no not a specific one, just want to make sure I dont miss anything..

bojangles, its ok if you miss a few things, just as long as its nothing major (eg house is about to fall down)

you will learn by experiencing not one thing will be perfect, if it passes your basic investment critera then i'd say go ahead

Oh yeah it is very nice sparks..but out of my reach and also a bit far from Sydney CBD.I'm trying to find the right balance between CG and Yield. Looking at spending around 320K. Anyway..very spiffy indeed Sparks!!