Entry level question

Hi there,

my understanding is, in australia, the buyer is not responsible for paying for realty agent commissions, the burden is on the seller. Here are some follow-up questions:

1) Is it better to bring in a buying agent myself? Since I don't like the situation in which an agent can act on behalf of both the buyer and the seller.

2) If, let's say, I don't bring in a buying agent, can I ask the seller to shave some $$ off the price since he doesn't need to pay my agent? Or, the selling agent will automatically be appointed to represent me (in such case, I guess I'd be motivated to bring my own agent to begin with)?

3) How difficult it is to get an agency licence so that I can represent myself in the future transactions? Is it worthwhile?

4) Any good links for self-taught buying process? Preferrably for QLD.

Thanks a bunch!

Originally posted by Lilith
Hi there,

my understanding is, in australia, the buyer is not responsible for paying for realty agent commissions, the burden is on the seller. Here are some follow-up questions:

1) Is it better to bring in a buying agent myself? Since I don't like the situation in which an agent can act on behalf of both the buyer and the seller.

2) If, let's say, I don't bring in a buying agent, can I ask the seller to shave some $$ off the price since he doesn't need to pay my agent? Or, the selling agent will automatically be appointed to represent me (in such case, I guess I'd be motivated to bring my own agent to begin with)?

3) How difficult it is to get an agency licence so that I can represent myself in the future transactions? Is it worthwhile?

4) Any good links for self-taught buying process? Preferrably for QLD.

Thanks a bunch!

1) In Austalia the real estate agent is acting on behalf of the seller, nobody else, dont think they are there to act in your best interests.