expression of interest ...

Hi I'm thinking of making an offer on a property that calls for an expression of interest. Being a newbie, I thought someone might be able to enlighten me on the best approach. The real estate agent has told me that I should put in my best offer and then on the closing date he will present the vendor with all offers submitted and work through the pros and cons of each. He has told me that he would expect the property to sell for high 3's to low 4's. he also said I can make a verbal offer, but a written offer is best if I am seriously interested. The property is a beachfront and they rarely come on the market, so it's hard to estimate its value. Someone has made an offer, but the vendor hasn't accepted it - suppose he's waiting to see what else comes up. Any advice? Thanks.

EOI puts all of the onus on the Buyer to know what the property is worth.

If you are serious, my only suggestion is to put in the hard yards to find out what it is truly worth.

If you want the easy road, and rely on what the agent says, then it's not realistic to expect a good outcome for yourself.

Any advice?
I'd see what others have sold for and offer less.
Another way would be to look at rental yield.
eg, you find out what the rent is x52 and then divide by the asking price. The higher the % the better the deal is.

Being beach front they could be expecting a premium price. Being close to the water you should consider that it could have a higher than normal maintenance and rental could be seasonal.

Don't get carried away and offer too much and also leave some money on the side in case the bank values it for less and doesn't lend you the amount you're asking for

Ignore everything the agent says about other offers.

If you are interested, put in your offer and make it valid for 24 hours.