Feedback on my investment strategy

(NB: This is somewhat of a Part 2 to a thread I started on 'where too look for advise on an investment strategy'. It assumes the answer might be 'right here'!)

Calling all Somersoft Vetrans, gurus and general investors.

I'm just starting out in this game and am after some opinions on my investment strategy.

For a bit of background: I am (was?) a first home buyer and have spent the last 4mth doing DD on areas I want to live in (read: blue chip suburbs, great but unlikely to make brilliant investments) before it dawned on me: "what am I thinking! I should suck up my lust for a shiny new home with OK CG and invest in a IP (or two) that is the best investment I can find". The only problem is, now i'm thinking like an 'investor', I need to start acting like one, which means goals, strategy, structures, etc.

I have just come to terms with the idea of living somewhere 'I don't want to' for 6mths if it is a good investment, so I can collect my First Home Owner benefits before going back to renting and converting it to an IP (apologies to anyone who is morally opposed to this strategy!). But it should be known that if i do this it is not because I will enjoy it! So I want to make sure it will be worth it!

So here is a bit about my financial situation.
*Eligible for First Home Owner grant, and have saved $20k+ in my First Home Saving Account (FHSA), which is ONLY redeemable on a PPOR.
*Around $300k cash which I could put toward deposit(s) + buying costs.
*Whilst I have a decent deposit my broker(s) suggest on my income I can get a max loan of around $400k
*Tax rate 30%
*Fairly tolerant to risk (I have no dependents)
*Looking for long term wealth creation. I don't really need more cashflow (apart from to service more loans!) but nor can I afford to be too negatively geared (I probably have a max $2,000 pm I could use to service loans.