Feedback with how I find cashflow positive property

Advice on how I find cashflow positive property

Hi Everyone,

Learning so much from everyone posts.
I'm new to the forum and I?m interested in your feedback on my plans. I am very new to property investing, having only read some books and the internet.

I plan to buy and hold. While I save, I?m trying to refine how I research for property and need your feedback. This is what I am doing to research:

• Look at suburbs with median price range within 10% above and below my budget - has to be mortgage belt suburbs ? currently can only afford to loan around $300k
    Look at 10 year Growth > 6% (I?d be happy to see my property double in 12 years)
    Rental yield higher > 5.2%
    Vacancy rates below 3%
    Estimate cashflow (Preferably CF+ or Neutral)

I will then research the council plans, infrastructure, demographics, employment and income, owner occupier %, renters %, opinions on good and bad areas in suburb etc.

If I like what I see I will then go and look for the type of property I think most suits that suburbs for property not on a main road, close to schools, shops, PT etc, find comparable sales data and look to buy below market value.

Should I consider anything else when researching?

What?s the best way to look at 12month/3 yrs/ 5 yrs Growth data if my time frame is longer than 10 years?

Would it be better to consider 5yr Growth instead of 10yr Growth?

Since CF+ property is so hard to find, is it worth considering property with a negative cashflow (if I think the cost is within my means)?

Thanks for your help guys!:)

Last edited:
Hello and welcome.

All that criteria -- growth >6%, yield > 5.2%, vacancy <3%, buy below market value -- will likely mean you don't buy anything. Very few properties will match.