First Home - IP

Hi everyone,

I've recently become interested in buying an IP. I'm new to most of the concepts involved in buying a place etc (this will be my first), so I may have many misconceptions - apologies in advance. I've read several posts on this forum and feel that many of you may have valuable suggestions for me.

I'm after an IP (unit) for the value of $500K. I'd prefer a decent-sized 2 bedder, with car space, quiet-ish location, low risk tenants. From what I can gather, I should be looking at some of the following suburbs:

-South: Wolli Creek/Arncliffe/Rockdale/Kogarah
-Inner west: Ashfield/Croydon, perhaps Homebush
-North west: Ryde/Meadowbank
-LNS: ?Lane Cove

Are these all areas that can have reasonable CG? Are there any other areas I should be considering? (I'd prefer to buy a place closer to the CBD, with the thought of perhaps using it as a PPOR down the track if I needed to - currently work in Inner west).

What are some good resources to find out more about what/where to buy - I haven't come up with much besides forums thus far - people to talk to/reports/magazines, that sort of thing?

Thanks for any help!

I gather this is your first investment property. It would be useful to work out why you wish to buy one IP for 500K - I do understand you are after "low risk tenants", but it would be worthwhile working out what the end goal is. I don't think just because the property is 500K there will be low risk tenants. You can find decent tenants else where too in cheaper areas, it is just how you perceive it.

Hi

AFAIK, most of the suburbs you have mentioned are low risk, good value suburbs i will definitely buy if i found a suitable IP that are aligned to my personal strategy.

AFAIK, most of the suburbs you have mentioned are low risk, good value suburbs i will definitely buy if i found a suitable IP that are aligned to my personal strategy.

^ ^ what this poster said.