Gladstone - Boulder Steel.. Gone....

Gday,

Look im a resident in Gladstone and Im tossing up buying here for future investment...

However I work in the construction sector and note the following:
- Work is dying off. Simple as that, I am an estimator for new work, and its just dead.
- There is a lot of talk about workforce, unfortunately the workforce is manned in camps, not houses.. I frequent curtis Island and there is thousands of available rooms for accommodation.
-Rent has dropped significantly.

And the biggest one, is as per the following. Boulder Steel, gone.... So whos next?

http://www.gladstoneobserver.com.au/news/steel-plant-hold-boulder-goes-administration/1957010/

Sure the rent yields are great still, however Im just not sure. I want to as it is ideal for my current situation, however what factors in my decision should i also be considering?

Thank you.

.....however what factors in my decision should i also be considering?

You should be considering buying somewhere that it is a confirmed rising market - not considering buying in a confirmed declining market (just because it is somewhere you are familiar with)! :eek:

You should be considering buying somewhere that it is a confirmed rising market - not considering buying in a confirmed declining market (just because it is somewhere you are familiar with)! :eek:

I suppose I should have stated it a little better.

What Im trying to come to terms with, is why everyone is still investing here... What is it I am failing to look at when all I see is exactly that, a declining market.

I suppose I should have stated it a little better.

What Im trying to come to terms with, is why everyone is still investing here... What is it I am failing to look at when all I see is exactly that, a declining market.

Well it is just the "herd" mentality and the un-educated newbie investors doing it - it will most likely end in tears for some.:(