Gold Coast Highrise

Hi Guys,

I'm looking to buy IP in Goldcoast, Qld. I was there last month for a holiday. Can anyone invested in Goldcoast please give me advise.
1. Highrise apartment with the view for around 450 -500ks (Brand New)
2. Townhouse/Small Units inland bit further down (1-2Km) from the water.

I Just concern about the highrise apartments , because of the Occupancy rate and resale values because of the foreign investers. Experts from Goldcaost please give me some your expertise advise.

Sanny

I am no expert on the gold coast however I would steer clear on high rises, you have no "control" with this type of investment.

I would go further out and buy house and land, just my opinion.

Land...land....land....(component)

Given the population movements into the area, especially younger families, IMHO you will get a better long term capital growth with a house or at a minimum, a townhouse compared to an apartment.

You can buy a very nice house in Coomera for example for that price ($450-500k), with a far better rental return.

Sanny

You have to ask yourself what is special about a highrise? they are everywhere. To be successful you have to go for scarcity value.

You already answered the question yourself...occupancy rates and resale values are always an issue... and because there are so many of them, a few desperate sellers can drive the price down.

Who lives in these properties? holiday makes and renters....

Hi Sanny,

New high rise apartments are expensive because overseas investors can only purchase 'new' properties. If you really want to buy one then I would suggest one that is a couple of years old as there is less demand. But over Christmas and Easter there are still many vacant so IMHO not a good IP.

As others have said it is best to buy property with land content as the land will increasing in value whereas the building will depreciate.