Having security released

Hi

I applied to my bank (Bank SA/St George) to have the security released on a third property we used to provide security to our first two IP purchases. I provided valuations by a registered valuer to assist my cause in showing that the properties are far and away under 80% LVR.

So I received a letter today where they have agreed, subject to me putting $100K into the loans!

I'm not sure what has happened here - have I misunderstood - is the bank allowed to hang on to the security as long as they want and not release it until they're satisfied?

The only way I can see out of this now is refinancing to another institution.

Adam

I have no experience with this but can you send another letter saying you will refinance if they dont reconsider your request?

Sure we are in a crisis but banks still want business. Do you have a personal lender you can ring up?

We have a personal lender with the ANZ and we have pushed him for things and he has made things happen previously. The last example was making a 95% lend happen when the bank changed its policy to 90%.

Matt

So I received a letter today where they have agreed, subject to me putting $100K into the loans!
Yep :mad:

I'm not sure what has happened here - have I misunderstood - is the bank allowed to hang on to the security as long as they want and not release it until they're satisfied?
Yep, I think you'll find as the lender, they can pretty much do whatever and that mortgage document you signed says much the same thing. But no-body ever reads it until this sort of thing crops up.That's why we all (most of us anyway) say do not x-coll.

The only way I can see out of this now is refinancing to another institution.
Yep, unless there is a clever MB who can do something for you.