Help with where to buy our first home!

Hi,

We are currently looking to purchase our first home, we are looking for a freestanding/semi detached 2-3 bedroom in a decent/upcoming area. We are at a loss as we have set ourselves a budget with a top of $550,000 yet are finding it hard to find almost anything in this price range. We currently have a deposit of just over $100,000, and all our finances are in place. My partner works in St Leonards and I am currently a student in the CBD, meaning that neither of us wants too commute for more than about 40 mins MAX. We have been considering areas such as St Peters, Tempe, Turrella, Arncliffe, West Ryde. as they are lower in price however are welcome to any suggestions. We ultimately only want to live in this property for the next 2-3 years with the view to buying something in a more suitable location and keep this property as an investment. Please someone point us in the right direction!!!

Jericho, what do you want us to say? You want to live in a property type and area that you can't afford. If we suggest areas further out or to buy a unit instead of a semi, for example, how would you respond? For example, in your situation (I'm assuming you don't have kids) with $550k, I would probably suggest buying a 2 bedroom near St Leonards (Artarmon, etc) for around $400-500k. Live there for a few years and move when you need to.

Actually, it would make a lot more sense if you bought an even cheaper place and used the extra borrowing capacity to buy other investments instead, but I doubt you'll go for that.

Given what you've said, you don't have many options unless you up your budget or lower your expectations.
Alex