Home reno

Anyone interested in my home reno?
I've been taking before and after pics.
Not really sure what I will be doing with it after the reno but I am going to be moving up into my beach house where the weather is nicer.
Trying to do it all on the cheap with my own labour. Time period is not important.

Long time no see, where you been hiding?

I'm interested in befores / afters / cost breakdowns / etc

Bedroom western side

I haven't been hiding, just retired and living the boring life as ya do lol.
Got into aquarium fish keeping and had to learn all the water chemistry and stuff that goes with it.

I had also forgotten half of what I learned doing rental renos so I chose a small easier room to start off with. Did I say easy?
I had done a bit with it when we first moved in, considering it had no wall linings at all.
This house is built in 1904 and I think half the town has visited or stayed in it at some time or another. This room my neighbour had rented as an apprentice. He is about my age so it was a little while ago.

Tell me if these photos show. Its on my facebook account which has pretty stiff protection but should show here if I share.

184748_488073837898555_788209899_n.jpg

Adding noggins, insul paper and plugging all the holes in the exterior timber.

530680_488073891231883_550892425_n.jpg

Put up ordinary vj pine boards. Nothing fancy, just what the local hardware had at the time. Mouldings about the base and windows just plain pine stuff from the hardware. Pine quad up around the ceiling and wall corners. Its nothing special but it paints up nice. Note the ceiling. I think that might have been lead paint so I didn't sand it at all. Just washed it down, gap sealed ($2 cheap stuff) and painted.

It had no wardrobe so I cheated and got a tradie in to build me one. It did cost a fair bit but since none of the walls or floors are plumb square in this house, he did kind of earn his money fitting it in. I sheeted the inside of the wardrobe myself with an removable panel to access kitchen wiring of stove behind that wall and built a door up high in the cupboard as that was a man hole access to the ceiling.
1232_488073834565222_103136614_n.jpg

19118_488070311232241_1140814788_n.jpg

All painted and eco blinds installed. They are pretty cheap those blinds from bunnings. They look nice and do the job.

Next post, how to restore a very old painted timber floor.

It was a real surprise to see your thread. It certainly seems an age since you've visited.

I do love before and after photos, so I'm loving seeing yours. We went for a walk today and a friend around the road has ripped out a room ready to take a new kitchen, so we've scored a pile of VJs and an old door and got a dose of renovation without having to lift a finger.

Bring on more photos :D. (You can never have too many before/after photos).

Just to show the wardrobe installer earned his money. Look at the spacing at the side. This house I think was built according to eye, not technical measuring. Solid as a rock but no two walls are on the same degree.
58224_488073881231884_780111629_n.jpg

Now for the floor. We discovered it was hoop pine.

270845_488077477898191_56816339_n.jpg

Just using a 4 inch belt sander (Festool) and a dust extractor with an orbital sander to finish the edges.

74678_488077484564857_187773343_n.jpg

One board needed replacing. Ever tried to find a wide bit of hoop pine of thickness about 3/4 inch? We trashed the timber recycling depot in Lowood but could only find a bit of hardwood to fit. It looked not bad until we sanded it. Complete wrong colour but hey, it fits. Hubby Les says its a feature board for the room now. At least it will never rot.

269208_491233797582559_1654587091_n.jpg

All sanded and Timbermate putty 'teak' seemed to be not a bad colour match. Bunnings has it in 2kg pots but for the rest of the house floors now I have bought a 20kg drum from masters online at half the price.

48168_497511976954741_425884592_n.jpg

All finished with Cabot's water based polyurethane CFP clear. Never found it for sale really cheap and just a cost we have to pay. It's great stuff. There are youtube videos showing how to do it too. How do you think I learned? ;)

Haha worth every penny too.

Next overhaul was the toilet. I had already removed the 4mm ply stuff from the walls which was falling to bits and put in 10mm pine vj's. Just needed a repaint to spruce it up.

The floor was the problem. What to do? Tile it or lino or polish?
I decided to be a glutton for punishment and sand and polish the floor. Not easy in a small room with a toilet in the way.

536936_502890143083591_692831639_n.jpg

My favourite weapon, a 4 inch Festool belt sander. I do have a bigger one but it tends to want to level the entire floor and chews off a lot of timber.
Turns out the floor is hardwood.

Hubby Les thought he would get an action shot of me smoothing off the Timbermate putty.
150491_509847512387854_391883849_n.jpg

Turned out pretty nice job.
579843_513955028643769_688270094_n.jpg

150432_513955048643767_1353176373_n.jpg

Hey Brenda long time no see and welcome back!
Can't believe you're back into it all... how many sanders did you wear out this time round?! ;):D

Keep the pics coming- all good and nice to see you haven't lost your enthusiasm :D

Its a labour of love when its your own house.
I am trying to use recycled products where I can and try not to overcapitalise.

I would like to buy a house on acreage up near my beach house but shares haven't taken off in enough capital growth yet.

Had a major setback when we loaned a large sum to rellies. Tip- Never do that.

Hi Brenda

Long time no see...

I was away for a while but came back a few months ago .

Maybe it's time to by those bits of lowood you didn't buy before :cool:

Not a bad time to be buying I q'land .

Are you seeing any sign of movement at this stage or is it too early in the cycle.

Seeing the same old houses for sale that were for sale before the boom.
Thinking they are a bit over priced as yet. Property isn't exactly a liquid asset so you have to be sure you are buying well before you commit.

I will be moving to Burrum Heads one of these days and would prefer buying investments closer to that area and save some travelling. I would have a more hands on approach to management as I got burned with some poor quality management before. A bit like the little girl with a curl, when she was good she was very very good and when she was bad she was horrid.

Before pics of hall foyer which connects bedroom, bathroom and toilet from lounge room.
Very dark in there due to high ceiling and unpainted. Tends to absorb light and hide heaps of daddy longlegs spiders.
733906_506710249368247_298384358_n.jpg

The big moths liked it too.
421802_506710286034910_209125126_n.jpg

Charming gap in the ceiling dropped all manner of dust, gheckos and rubbish down.
31456_506710299368242_277945906_n.jpg

529828_506710389368233_2086265737_n.jpg

There was also a gap in the floor between foyer and bathroom where the sheeted bathroom floor was cut off too short.
545920_519355281437077_8412439_n.jpg

Plan, sheet over the exposed wiring, gapseal all holes, cut little timber plugs for the big holes, add quad over ceiling gap, and paint.
Add board to beam under house to block floor hole. Fill in hole in floor and sand and polish hardwood flooring.

Painting, sheeting and sealing done. Doors are for another time. I accidentally tapped the window with a hammer and had to get the glass replaced oops.
72935_519155971457008_1607900749_n.jpg

That was just a bit of chipboard I had laying around. Painted up nice though.
579619_519155994790339_809731215_n.jpg

Floor came up nice.
555767_521696851202920_259387591_n.jpg

Brace yourself next for before bathroom reno shots. :eek:

Bathroom

So much to do it wasn't funny. For starters only one wall was ever painted. All the rest is pure unpainted timber.

Halfway thru gap sealing the ceiling.
564045_521365864569352_1319783922_n.jpg

Shower cubical I had added myself a few years ago. Omg I still remember packing out the wall behind it because it was so not a vertical wall lol.
528313_521365861236019_684676391_n.jpg

Painting in progress.
486378_523362564369682_1865726015_n.jpg

Wasn't quite sure what to do behind the bath tub. Thought about boxing it in and tiling but in the end I just ended up painting behind there.
5989_535051349867470_566445843_n.jpg

Unbelievable this old house. The window was shoved in there with rough splintery hard wood and left like that.
15104_526479780724627_211586932_n.jpg

Brenda framed window. Not really sure what I was doing but it looked much nicer and that's the main thing.
21309_526479790724626_1165549190_n.jpg

Finished window with a nice little Bunnings eco blind.
923571_529928600379745_962567554_n.jpg

Bathroom floor

I did wonder why the previous owners left the old cupboard in the bathroom.
Look what it was covering up lol.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/525352_521365987902673_979156590_n.jpg[img]

I screwed a metal plate onto the floor from underneath and filled what turned out to be a previous toilet pedestal mounting with plaster.
[img]https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/375070_534795743226364_1122081163_n.jpg

There were two holes in the floor under the bath tub. One was for the waste and one was there I dunno maybe they stuffed up the first hole?
I decided since the bathroom had no actual over flow I would make the second one into an over flow. I had to buy some impressive hole saws for the hand drill to make said holes fit proper fittings.
971058_534041643301774_1075700314_n.jpg

I priced lino (dearer than carpet nowadays) and decided to have a bash at tiling the floor myself. There are plenty of youtube videos on the subject.
960092_540559959316609_1799197233_n.jpg

They are bellazza porcelain tiles 'sand' from Bunnings, cheap as chips. I tried the score and snap cheaper tile cutter but it was just rubbish so I cut all the tiles with a $99 on special wet tile cutter. Noisy, wet (especially in your groin if you don't wear and apron lol) but cut the tiles beautifully, even tiny cuts if I wasn't quite accurate the first go.
934990_538898852816053_2029520024_n.jpg