how much do you spend on food each week?

Last week I spent $400 on food plus home/personal cleaning products from the supermarket i.e the usual weekly food, cleaning products, soap and loo paper etc.

Usually spend around $300 weekly (not including eating out) for 4 adults.
We eat a lot of chicken thigh fillets, expensive steak once a week or fortnight, not too much cheap sausages or mince, quite a bit of fairly expensive tinned fish for lunch with salad. Lots of fresh fruit & veg, about $10 week on yogurt, $35 on A2 milk instead of $14 for home brand (but worth it, not so sniffly from allergies any more), waste around $10 a week on chocolate and a tub of icecream but no other junk food. Expensive bread from bakery (no additives) rather than cheap bread.
We eat well. Am I spending way too much? What do other families spend?

We spend about the same. I used to spend about $200 at the supermarket, then go to the fruit shop and spend $40 - $70 depending on what I buy. Then milk is delivered. The grocery bill is now about $300 so $400 per week would be about right for us. We are a family of five, youngest aged twelve, so pretty much nearly five adults.

Having said that, I don't shop on the same day every week, so it is possibly lasting us a week and a day or two. I tend to shop when the fridge is empty :).

I know people say to shop at Aldi, and I would try except it is part of Carindale and I refuse to fight for a park with all the extra frustrations involved to save $20. Same with fruit markets. Neighbours go early every Sunday (only two adults in the household) but I am NOT getting up early on a Sunday to save money on fruit, walk about in the hot sun or the cold wind, lug it to the car.

I am truly lazy, but others who spend their days driving kids to and from all and sundry probably feel the same way. I get everything in one trip to my local small mall and top up where it is convenient.

2 adults and we spend on average $100 on everything. (grocery, fruit and vege & meat)
We go out (usually to the local surf club) every friday night for a meal and entertain friends at least once a month.

We don't want for anyting and have a fridge, freezer and pantry chockers. (actualy for the last month we have spent bugger all coz I have been on a "clean the cr*p out of the pantry :) )

We rarely throw food out. Loads fo my friends spend $300 odd but chuck out $150 of it.

Sue

PS Never been to Aldi (don't have one here yet)

two adults and one child (plus dog, cat, fish) - we spend around $180-200/wk including all the "in between" milk and bread runs.

when there were five adults and one kids at home i used to spend around $350/wk as the older kids would usually buy their own lunch or were our socialising at night (either had 3 or 10 at the table)

We spend about $300 a week at the supermarket - 2 adults and 2 kids under 5. We do however live in a remote area where fresh produce is exorbitantly priced (everything comes in by barge) - fresh milk is $6.50 for 2l (hence the use of long-life - which I hate :eek:), fruit, veg and meat are also much more expensive...not wingeing - its the price we pay to live here in a beautiful place and earn good money. We buy mostly fresh foods, and staples - flour, oats etc. I bake a lot more than when we lived in the city, making bread and healthy snacks for the kids. We fish a lot too.

Our money saving idea is to have one soup night, and one vegetarian night a week - both of which are cheap and nutritious. We do entertain a bit - BBQs and people over for meals but it is reciprocated so we eat out (at other peoples homes) once a week or so. Restaurants dont really exist!

Nadia

2-300 per fortnight for 2 adults (+ 3 cats, dog, birds). Fruit I get from work but all else I buy. Kids and partners come for dinner at least once a week - we go there maybe once every 6 weeks - funny how it works that way:rolleyes:

i have 2 young 'uns that waste more food than they put into them.

we're not big meat eaters - once or twice a week at the most - and our food bill is still $350pw +. we do eat expensive bread (Bodhis) because of my little girl's wheat intolerance, our cereals and pasta are sans gluten and our milk (rice/oat/lactose free) is about twice the regular cost.

I have noticed that my groceries seem to have jumped from $200pw to $300pw in the last 6-12 months. My spending hasn't changed much - even though my missus shot through I have had much younger women around most nights who have bigger appetites than her.

My two teen daughters need all sorts of products each week compared to my bar of soap and tube of colgate every month or so ...

I think we have had some pretty impressive price rises this last year at the supermarket as well as the bowser.

I spend around $150 a week, thats for 1 adult and three children - includes school snacks like rollups, chips, shapes, yoghurts.

Dinner this week includes, spagetti bol, butter chicken, Ravioli, apricot chicket, pork chops with veggies, steak sandwhiches, add $15-20 for takeaway 1 night per week.

I take my lunch to work, normally left over dinner or sandwhiches. Kids get tuck shop once a week.

I think I do ok.

We spend around $160/week for 2 adults and 2 kids aged 3 and 5. My daughter is allergic to peanut so we can't buy most of the junk food, bikkies, chocolates, muslei bars and snacks most people seem to have so I think this keeps it down quite a bit. I buy fruit and veg in season and meat on special out of habit rather than whatever I feel like at the time.

Louise

$125/week up from $100 just 12 months ago....no change in our eating/grocery shopping habits either....it's alwys on the rise...like everything else we "need" like food, petrol, gas, electricity....Oh.... and property(read a roof over your head)...:D

Around $200 per week for 2 adults.
Spend around $100 at the supermarket (dog food, cleaners, toilet paper, hygenie products etc), $60 at fruit and vege, $20 at deli, $20 at butcher.
Although that also includes all the foods required for when we go do our 1-10 day races (lots of fruit cups, jelli and fruits, museli bars etc - stuff that's banned from the house (kept in our "race food" box in the garage)). That stuff seems to make up the most of it.

Canberra is unbelievably expensive for fruit and vege. If I'm ever in sydney of a weekend I go to parklea or other local markets and shop there, much better even compared to the farmers markets here.

Mainly just the 2 of us now. We would be spending 50 - 70pw. We don't eat meat and grow a lot of veges and fruit. On top of that we don't eat much (don't weigh much either) and rarely throw out food. Whatever gets thrown out goes to the worms and gets recycled into the garden and back into food (or weeds).

We spend anywhere from $60-120 depending on where we are and what we get, but we get disposable nappies which can really push things up on the weeks we get those.

2 adults, one child, one baby in this house.

I'd say $350wk on average, 2 adults, 3-4 kids, we try to buy good food, quality but the kids get some junk for recess and a bit of ice cream, most is ingredients but every now and then packaged food is bought. I would have thought we spend on the high side for the amount of food we get. Eat a lot of seafood, lean meat, free range eggs, at least fresh veg is reasonable price.

doesn't include wine / beer / eating out.

Graeme

For 2 adults and 3 children....

$150- per week.. We live in INdonesia:)

Not everything is cheap though, Standard pack of weetbix or nutra grain... $12-!! Although got a bargain yesterday, small vegemite for $5-...

The good thing is we eat masses amounts of tropical fruits like mangos etc for next to nothing!!

Rob

We spend around $300 per fortnight to feed 2 adults and 4 teenage boys plus 3 dogs, 2 cats, 1 chook, 1 cockatoo, 1 rat and 1 mouse. We also eat steak, chicken, chops along with the frozen crap they like to eat and 2 boxes of 2 litre bottles of coke and other soft drinks. We fill 2 supermarket trollies and we shop at Aldi. Before Aldi we spent close to $400 at Woolies fortnightly. We definetly save more than $20 and we are in and out in about 3/4 hour. It may not be everyones style and started through necessity but we won't change when we ar out of the woods. We just top up with bread and milk but we also did that with the Woolies shop.

Family of five. We spend about $500 - $600 a fortnight which seems a lot but our three children are teenagers. Meals are usually stir frys, spag bol, various chicken fillet dishes, fresh vegies, rice, cous cous, bean dishes. We just seem to buy the normal items which includes ingredients for simple meals, lunches and recess items, few snack foods, little cleaning products, etc. We buy take away once a week and kids buy from school canteen once a week. We have noticed that the grocery bill has rissen in the last 12 months also. We have also noticed that we now buy a lot of sauces and mixes that you just add to meat or meals, where once we used to start from scratch with a recipe. These items are most likely more expensive.