If you had the chance to start all over again.....

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to this forum and to the IP concept. I have been madly reading and taking in as much information as i possibly can. Now as a newbie i am extremely eager and wiling to accept advise and learn from the experienced.

So I would like to hear some recommendations.

My questions to everyone are - If you had the chance to conceive your investment portfolio again, where would you begin? what sort of portfolio would you aim for? and what mistakes wouldnt you make this time round? (and any other related information.)

Im looking forward to reading everyones good and bad experiences as im sure all advise will be good advise.

thanks

Tips I've learnt along the way (wish I had known from the start):

* Never buy an investment Property on a main road-had problems with tenancies
* Always use Lender's Mortgage Insurance-capitalise this cost as part of the loan-save precious $$s saved
* Renovations the way to go as far as increasing rental yields
* Always pay at a maximum 5% deposit of Purchase Price even at Auction
* Read as many books as possible and go to a few seminars (use the search function to give you some clues as to value for money seminars)
* Property Managers save much time e.g. tenant tribunal/reference checks/inspection times etc-Use them unless you have time up your sleeve-remember their fees are negotiable too!
* Understand break-even points and methods for quickly calculating Cash Flow positive/neutral/negative properties

Here are just a few to get you going.....

Remember, these represent my opinion only.

Glenn.

Well Howard I'm not that far down the track but I can already tell you I would think long and hard before selling a property again.