Improving rental appeal

Can anyone suggest the major features that renters look for and where the best returns for effort are.

I'm assuming that painting is a number one. How about modernising or renewing things like cisterns, bench tops (Dog Kennel!) etc? Has anyone any relative 'percentage' figures or dollar values? (e.g add lockup garage adds $xx or xx% to rental value), or is that widely variable over suburbs?

Julie, this exact topic has been done to death. Have a bit of a search on here. A topic about a month back had a poll to rate the features to upgrade to get the best return on investment.

Anyway, you will need to give some sort of indication as to the type of dwelling you are planning on. House, Town House, Unit.........

Gools

Im no expert, but I would suggest it varies from area to area, and type of tenant. I have found it useful to talk to the PM's in the area when I was looking at doing reno's. For one of the areas I invest in, a car port adds no rent whatsover, but a new heater adds $20 a week if you are trying to find a tenant in autumn.

As mentioned above, it depends on the area, but I have generally found kitchens offer a much greater appeal.

It doesn't have to be Caesarstone with glass splashbacks. Just a kit kitchen will do...as long as it looks new and modern.

I think gardening and landscaping is under rated and adds a great deal of appeal to a renters first impression.

Regards JO

I guess it all depends on price and location doesn't it?

The area that your property is situated and what they prospective tenant could afford.

I see no point having granite benchtops and high end appliances in an area and type of IP that would only attract 250-270/week.

So for me, in the areas that I invest - lowish, blue collar sort of properties - I think an updated bathroom and kitchen, security, lock up garage and a nice, neat easy care garden are important.

But definitely it is a horses for courses thing.

All the best,