Income made this year, includeing GC.

I have to tell you all about what happened at work today.

Some of you may already know that I'm a baker working in a fatory. Anyhow this lady that works there has been carrying on for weeks about how much her husband earns, and also about their new house and car and all of the other crap. None of the workers there know about our investments, until today that is.

I quickly added up my wifes part time wages, my wages, our rents and included CG at 8% onto the figure as well. I finaly spoke up and announced that my wife and I have made over a quarter of a million dollars this financial year.

I'm not quite sure of the initial reaction because I got real nervous about it and walked away. Later I got comments like "well why are you still working then", and " you earnt $250,000, BS". Their reactions didn't surprise me, but the amount did surprise me. I supose I've never really added it up like that before. I've only ever looked at how much is left over at the end of the day.

I'm interested to know if your willing, how much did you earn and include your CG as well.

John.

There's no point in telling people. You'll just alienate those who don't invest. It's not a contest: investing is a way to achieve personal goals, not beat the other person.

People who boast how much salary they're making, etc are probably up to their eyeballs in debt and one payday away from disaster. Why compare yourself to them?

Just be content that you're building long-term wealth and security for yourself and your family and ignore what other people say.
Alex

What is the point of such comparisons?

Top of the tree in the world is Bill Gates. Having donated over US$10 billion of his wealth to charity, he remains the richest in the world.

Second is Warren Buffett, the best investor the world has ever seen - over US$40 billion net worth, self made.

Makes all of us look 'poor'.

The Wild One said: