is my accountant ripping me off?

I am a sparky by trade have been working in karratha in the mines. last financial year i paid $33,253.00 in tax.

I bought my first IP in April this yr. so only had a few months to claim it till the 1st of july on my first tax return.

All i got back this year was $1497.04.

And my accountant bill was:
time devoted to personal lodgement $250
time devoted to IP lodgement $260 (only had IP from April)
GST=$51
TOTAL=$561

So after i pay that bill im left with $936 bucks.....which i thought was pretty poor.

does this seem right?

Hi streetie,

Its pretty hard to know if you got a raw deal or not just by looking at the tax you paid, for example if you earnt a cool mill last year paid 33k tax and got tax back then I reckon you should be pretty chuffed with your accountant, on the other hand if you earnt 70k then you should give him the boot...see what I mean?

If your not happy give your tax person a call and get them to take you through the return.

yeah i think it was.. i had my usual stuff for my personal tax, tools, car, work related stuff etc.....didnt have that much this year.
then i had all the invoices and stuff for my IP...rental statements, bank statements showing interest, strata, council, water etc..

I bought it April 11 and financial yr finishes June 30th. So either I didn have it long enought to get some descent tax breaks from it or my accountant didnt get a good return for me.

I also thought $561 is pretty steep for quite a simple tax lodgement?

Really there is still not enough information.

Owning an IP doesn't immediately mean you get tax back. Depends on what the difference is between your income from the property (rent) and the outgoings (rates, PM fees, mortgage interest - which is the interest component only, not the full payment if paying principal).

You can't claim anything in relation to the purchase - stamp duty, conveyancing costs etc - until you sell the property.