Is picking individual shares for mugs ?

I know this is a property forum, but there are some share gurus here as well, and I need to diversify. I am an absolutely novice with shares. People say buy blue chips, but blue chips can be duds as well. For example, NAB share was trading at $28 Dec00, now April 10, and it is still $28. Westfield sank from $20 to $12, Telstra price now is lower than when it was floated million years ago, etc etc. These are what I would call blue chips but they are going nowhere, if you make money on 5 blue chips, and lose money on the other 5, then you are not in front at all. So my plan is to regularly contribute to index/ETF and save all the hassles. Just wondering what the others think.

I know this is a property forum, but there are some share gurus here as well, and I need to diversify. I am an absolutely novice with shares. People say buy blue chips, but blue chips can be duds as well. For example, NAB share was trading at $28 Dec00, now April 10, and it is still $28. Westfield sank from $20 to $12, Telstra price now is lower than when it was floated million years ago, etc etc. These are what I would call blue chips but they are going nowhere, if you make money on 5 blue chips, and lose money on the other 5, then you are not in front at all. So my plan is to regularly contribute to index/ETF and save all the hassles. Just wondering what the others think.

Why do you need to deversify?

If your getting results with what your doing then whats the point in changing?