Is this Unethical?

Recently found a house which was to be my first IP (current house PPOR) in a high demand suburb. I put an offer down on the house which was the asking price. Got a call back from the agent who said several other people have put down offers that are the asking price and if i could fax a final offer.

Then something dodgy happened. He said since all offers are about the same anyone who will sign an "unconditional contract" will probably have the best chance. WTF? i told him i dont understand. He reiterates that he will email me the contract and whoever signs it and faxes it by COB the following day will be in the best position to buy the house. He made sure he actually didnt tell me to sign the contract but just mentioned that whoever sends an unconditionally signed contract first will be in the best position to have their offer accepted.

Now im new to this game but im thinking how can i sign something when it takes a few at least to get final approval from the bank. Also he wanted me to sign before COB that day even though my offer hadnt been accepted. This means no time for building/pest reports, $700 to solicitor to look over contract and make sure its ok to sign but no guarantee for me that my offer will win. That $700 could potentially be wasted if someone else's offer is better than mine.

I hurried to my broker and he said that this wasnt right as its really forcing me to sign before my finance is a 100% approved (obviously i had pre-approval). My broker speaks to the real estate agent saying i will definetly be approved but it will take 5 days. REA says first in best dressed. In the end i refused to "unconditionally sign", i stuck with the asking price and mentioned best i could do was exchange within 5 businness days. Well someone else who was willing to sign unconditionally ended up having their offer accepted later that day.