Let me get this straight

Newbie here, so sorry for bringing up the topic again, just trying to un-jumble my train of thought before i go for an open house this afternoon.

In a property downturn:

- IR likely to go down if it is over an extended period of time (thus making repayments less / ability to hold property easier).
- An increase in demand for properties as there will now be more people in the market looking to buy, this should help to increase the price.
- Rents should hold over a period of 12-24 months, as there will be less people looking to rent, but an increase in house prices could force them back there if they cant afford it.

I think the next 6 months wont be such a bad time to buy, im hoping and thinking rates dont go anywhere by the end of the year. If they do rise though, all the better for us i guess. As long as you dont get over your head, with a fairly decent yield from the get-go, even if there is a downturn, or flat period, you should be able to get through it fine (hopefully).

Im looking for some places where i can give it a quick cosmetic reno to add some equity, which would give me a bit of a buffer if something happens. Also, yield will play more of a role in my next purchase, rather than the hope of better CG.

How do you think this sounds? Reading A LOT lately, and this is what i have come up with. Please, if you have any differing opinions, let me know... very eager to learn.

The RBA uses alot of different factors to set their IR (e.g inflation, employment rate, etc).

In a property downturn, IR may not follow the trend down.

None of these things is a given. The problem is the cause of the property downturn is going to influence what happens during the downturn.

You really need to think about the overall economic situation to determine possible impacts of a property downturn.

Is it due to a general economic slump? The IR's might go down as the RBA seeks to encourage growth.