Liverpool Units vs Liverpool Houses?

I am researching an IP purchase in Liverpool NSW, and I can't decide which is a better investment, units or houses.. (my investment strategy is buy and hold)

From API June 2009 issue :

Liverpool (houses) : Median $315, 10 yr growth 7.0%, Gross Yield 5.3%
Liverpool (units) : Median $205, 10 yr growth 7.3%, Gross Yield 6.3%

Based on above figures, units have lower median price (quicker to save deposit), higher 10yr growth, and higher yield... so why would anyone prefer houses over units?

Looking at the figures alone, it is clear to me that units are the superior investment.

Are these the main figures I should be looking at when assessing whether a unit is a better investment than a house.

Also, can I expect the growth over the next 10 years to be similar to the past 10 yr growth?

I am a newbie investor and always thought I needed to have houses in my property portfolio, but units just seem like a better option. Are there any investors on this forum that only have units in their portfolio, or is a mix of units and houses the way to go ?

Thanks.

Teg,

Theres no right or wrong answer and as such no right or wrong investment. As the saying goes, horses for courses.

My 2c worth for what its worth, with houses you can usually value add, cheaply. For example, buying a run down house nice and cheap, give it a refurb kitchen, and a general spruce up and you can increase the value of the property, very quickly. Harder to do for units. Instant equity is always nice.

Also, if enough land comes with the house, then you may at some point in your buy and hold strategy, develop the property and put more dwellings on it.

Land tax is a consideration with a houses portfolio.

Sh#!!y strata is a consideration with a unit based portfolio.

so in my opinion, no right or wrong answer to your question. Just do your Due diligence and if the numbers stack up, house or unit, then I'd buy.

Reactions: BV
Thanks for the reply luvvit.