Melbourne - my suburb shortlist

What are the pros and cons? Your thoughts?

This is my shortlist for Melbourne suburbs to invest. It would need to be a townhouse or villa or apartment (not a huge block) as I can't afford a house. I've chosen based on consistent 1, 3 and 5 year growth, weekly household income, vacancy rate and owner occupied rate.

Hoping to make the list smaller.

Budget around 450k

I am a new investor. I do not have a lot of experience.

Preston
Heidelberg heights
Heidelberg west
MacLeod
Watsonia
Greensborough
Montmorency
Carnegie
Parkdale
Mordialloc

An old two bedroom unit in Ringwood East and Ringwood would be a better choice than most of the ones on your list. Have you looked at these suburbs too?

Hi Onion33

I'll preface my response by saying I'm new to investing as well and have recently bought 2BR Apartments in Elwood ($450k)& Maidstone. My shortlist would be:

Preston - Closest to city with plenty of amenities. Look at units over flats
Parkdale/Mordy - Long term CG due to beachside appeal and proven performance. Try to get townhouses or units though
Carnegie - won't get much under $450 but again great amenities and proximity to the city.

Don't rule out Elsternwick or Elwood either. They have a very chic feel and will be always sought after.

I can't afford a house.
Budget around 450k

Yes you can! Trees do not grow into the sky and looking at past 1,2,3 year growth is not a crystal ball for the future.

$450,000 is a lot of money. If you go further south Bayside, to unpopular places, you will almost certainly earn better capital gain than if you chose the suburbs on your list. Additionally, a 5% yield in unpopular areas is more than do-able.