Modern roof repairs Blaaaaaa...

Hi all

Just need to vent - check this, Modern roof restoration running a sale 25% off
so I give them a ring for a quote. Unless I am prepared to sign up for it on the day, they won't send a sales rep they will only send me a service guy charging $132.00 and I cannot get the special price.....

Told them Fine, I will go elsewhere and NEVER call you for any og the hundreds of reno's I will do. L.O.L I wish.

Celeste

i had them out for a quote regarding my roof - some young slick thing turned up with moouse in his hair, a tie, suit and shiny shoes ... he flicked thru some glossy photo book talking to me like i was an idiot.

needless to say i went with the other guy who turned up in the ute in his yakka gear and proceeded to clamber over the roof for a thorough look.

did a great job to - house looked brand new afterwards. we'd recently repainted the render (10 yr old) and the roof was letting it down, so had the roof done to match, put it on the market - and the house sold in 4 days.

Roof Renovations and Restorations are one of the great scams of the 90's and more recent years.. They come out, take an apparent expert look over your roof, tell you how bad it is and then spray some cheap paint on an inexpertly prepared roof.. a few $1000's of dollars later you're much poorer with a nicely painted roof that could have been done for $700.

Does mean that you WILL go to them for your hundreds of reno's?

Hi Mark - no they will never hear from me again.

the I wish for the hundres of reno's - only joking hopefully I will make a packet on less that 50 and retire - Oh come on Italy. I plan to do lots of travel when I retire.:D

celeste

i had them out for a quote regarding my roof - some young slick thing turned up with mouse in his hair, a tie, suit and shiny shoes ... he flicked thru some glossy photo book talking to me like i was an idiot.

needless to say i went with the guy who turned up in the ute in his yakka gear and proceeded to clamber over the roof for a thorough look.

did a great job to - house looked brand new afterwards. we'd recently repainted the render (10 yr old) and the roof was letting it down, so had the roof done to match, put it on the market - and the house sold in 4 days.

Hi Lizzie

Out of curiousity (sorry can't spell today) how much did Yakka man cost.

I just purchased some Yakka overalls - thought it might stop the disgusted looks I get when I nick down the shops covered in paint / tile edhesive dust and rubble.:D

Celeste

Duncan is on the money....

Many people see a newly painted roof and think it has been restored.

That squirt of paint rarely fixes any leaks and if by chance it does, guarantee you it's only temporary.

Painting your car is not a restoration job unless you cut out the rust, fix the dents, re-align the panels etc etc.

So as a buyer, I'd be very warey of a newly painted roof as I dont know what it is covering up.

As a seller, it's a great way to add street appeal to a tired looking house.

Oh yeah, I dont get the young guys turning up like Lizzie has, but I do get a steady number of calls telling me one of their roof restorers was in my area doing a job and noticed I had some problems with the capping.

The bomb shell comes when I decline their offer to come out by saying "I dont think I want your expert working on my roof... you see it's a flat tin roof, so I don't know how he could see that broken capping".

So yes, my experience is that in most cases, it's a scam.

Buyer Be Ware!

Duncan is on the money....

Oh yeah, I dont get the young guys turning up like Lizzie has, but I do get a steady number of calls telling me one of their roof restorers was in my area doing a job and noticed I had some problems with the capping.

The bomb shell comes when I decline their offer to come out by saying "I dont think I want your expert working on my roof... you see it's a flat tin roof, so I don't know how he could see that broken capping".

So yes, my experience is that in most cases, it's a scam.

Buyer Be Ware!

I got a better one,

Back OH... shhhh.. 20yrs ago, I got a phone call, it went like this-
sales girl: Hello I am from ... home improvements, we have a rep in the area doing quotes on extensions.
me: I could use some extra room - do not know where you would put it?
sales girl: Our rep can sort that out for you.
me: OK send him around
sales girl: address?
me apartment 3, 36 xxxx St West Brunswick
Sales girl: apartment 3 is that on the ground floor
me: no I am on the 1st floor and renting.
sales girl: Oh. click.

L.O.L Well it was a very small 1 bed apartment and I could have ysed the extra room!!!:D

Celeste

i had them out for a quote regarding my roof - some young slick thing turned up with mouse in his hair, a tie, suit and shiny shoes ... he flicked thru some glossy photo book talking to me like i was an idiot.

needless to say i went with the guy who turned up in the ute in his yakka gear and proceeded to clamber over the roof for a thorough look.

Hi Lizzie,

Get this - a lady from my work is getting a shade screen put up over her back patio (townhouse) - she said it would cost $2700 - then she talked about the other quotes she got (much less) but this guy she chose came around with his "glossy photo book" - charged about $1k more, but his "glossy book" made her decide it was worth it - "he obviously was organised and knew what he was doing" :rolleyes: - I don't know, maybe he was - but that "glossy book" sold them for sure. I asked her if she even looked into the work done by those offering the cheaper quotes without those glossy books - they didn't.

As soon as the builder we're using (recommended from family/friends who have used him to build 3 mansions) picked me up in his dodgy old ute where the door nearly fell off when I hopped in - spilled hot coffee on himself and just laughed at himself - I knew he'd do our job perfectly! So far, I have no regrets - he's been absolutely amazing!

Jen

Roof resto' seem to be an area that attracts a lot of low types.

Every couple of years a band of "roaming gypsies" seem to scam through the country towns here in South West WA, carefully selecting O.A pensioners to prey on for roof restorations. I guess they are less likely to climb up for a better look at their work.

The same types also specialise in dodgey hotmix driveways. Much like the roof scam, it looks OK till it rains. Customers end up with a thin layer of tar laid straight onto the existing surface.

They arrive unsolicited, are only around for a few days, keeping a very low profile, they don't seem to drink in the pub or buy from shops in towns they hit, then they're gone with the proceeds leaving behind many victims who can least afford it.

The local police will warn people through the papers but always too late as they have disappeared before the victims realise they have been done and report them.

Unfortunately they come from the same area of the world I originated from. Not wanting to offend anyone but, they reportedly always have accents similar to Basil Fawlty's chosen builder, "The Orally Man". :eek:

Hi Lizzie

Out of curiousity (sorry can't spell today) how much did Yakka man cost.

cost me $2500 but then it was a huge double storied house. for that he refixed all loose capping, replaced broken tiles, repointed the capping in a flexibond type stuff, high water pressured the roof and gutters and then gave it two coats of some special roofing paint that soaks into the tiles (approved by boral) - hence won't peel off in 3 years time.

as it said - it looked fantastic and, i believe, made a big difference to the final price we got for the house.

I get a call every now and then saying that they are in the area and for a special promotion just available in the next few days they will give me $500 off for letting them put a sign on my fence while they do the work.

I always doubted that they were genuinely trying to help me with a service I didn't know I needed.

But as we are thinking of selling I better get a quote to have this done. Can you email me your Yakka guys details please Lizzie? :) :)

Hi Celeste,

Lowest quote we got was $2000 a few years ago. House is quite small 3 x 1 and is rectangular. We got on the roof, borrowed a friends high pressure cleaner, fixed roof capping ourselves, bought an air compressor with spray paint attachments, bought Wattyl Solarguard and sprayed it ourselves. Total cost was $500.00 and that included the air compressor which we now can use for other renos. Hope this helps.

Add to the scam of the Hot Water Service Men.

Again they target OA Pensioners.

They have offical looing names like Melbourne Water Group, etc.. and offer a free inspection of the HWS.

They then pull the anode which is rusty because that is it job to rust. They then push the overflow valve and it releases water as it should.

They tell owner HWS is about to collapse, see the rust and the leak:eek:

BUT...we have in our truck the parts and so it now for $$$$$.

My mom got caught but I rang head office and threatened legal action in 24 hours and they came back and changed it over that arvo.

I probably should have done them for treepass as mom is my tenant and as owner I had not approved the work.

Mum was in tears.

These types should be jailed with a big lonely man.;)

Peter 14.7

Hi Celeste,

Lowest quote we got was $2000 a few years ago. House is quite small 3 x 1 and is rectangular. We got on the roof, borrowed a friends high pressure cleaner, fixed roof capping ourselves, bought an air compressor with spray paint attachments, bought Wattyl Solarguard and sprayed it ourselves. Total cost was $500.00 and that included the air compressor which we now can use for other renos. Hope this helps.

Hi Lucy

Thanks for that, I am a bit frightened to do things on the roof etc as I am usually there on my own and if I fell there's no one around to pick me up.

But I have a little bit of time and I will get some quotes, still can't get in next door to finalise budget Brrrrrrrrr.. so annoying. Hopefully I can get it slipped into the budget, otherwise may have to solicit for a spotter.

Celeste

If you have tiles on the roof, slide up one tile from 3 row on the side of roof you work, get harness and rock climbing rope.

Attach eye link to roof timber structure and use snap-lock to attach rope.

Do it for every side of the roof, so plan your work so you don’t have to re-position your anchor too often.

You can probably use one anchor place to work on the whole roof, but if you slip and rope takes tension, not only you will damage the roof, but tile might cut the rope too and whole protection will fall apart.

On iron roof, you can attach eyebolt. Seal the inlet, and have it there permanently. Handy if you have to do more work later.
Or, if you use eye-link, you can unscrew it and replace with cap, for in between the jobs.

Use stainless steel or hot dip galvanised parts.

Good idea to have there somebody when you go on the roof and come down.
Many accidents happen at that time.

Also good idea to anchor the ladder so it doesn’t slip either way and cannot flip backwards.

If you have tiles on the roof, slide up one tile from 3 row on the side of roof you work, get harness and rock climbing rope.

Attach eye link to roof timber structure and use snap-lock to attach rope.

Do it for every side of the roof, so plan your work so you don’t have to re-position your anchor too often.

You can probably use one anchor place to work on the whole roof, but if you slip and rope takes tension, not only you will damage the roof, but tile might cut the rope too and whole protection will fall apart.

On iron roof, you can attach eyebolt. Seal the inlet, and have it there permanently. Handy if you have to do more work later.
Or, if you use eye-link, you can unscrew it and replace with cap, for in between the jobs.

Use stainless steel or hot dip galvanised parts.

Good idea to have there somebody when you go on the roof and come down.
Many accidents happen at that time.

Also good idea to anchor the ladder so it doesn’t slip either way and cannot flip backwards.

Hi George

Now, I definitely not doing it my self - toooooooooo scary:eek:

Celeste