Money Manager software

Hi all, just wandering what software others use to keep track of their finances ???

In my case I have been using Excel. Challenge is that with Visa card cycles it's a little challenging to get an accurate state of the nation at the end of each month despite our credit card been paid in full at the end of each cycle.

What I am wanting to do is at the end of each month work out exactly what I have spent and what has been saved from our incomes. If I was to use a debit card it would be ideal however the credit cards give us the points we use to fly family around.

Anyone keen to share ?

Ynab

I've been using YNAB, you need a budget for a few months. You can import from bank accounts etc, use an ap for tracking expenses, set up whatever categories & sub categories make sense to you. I really like it $60.

I use a freebie called Toshl.com. Nice easy User interface but it doesn't import automatically. Have to manually enter it in but I find it useful to see what I'm spending on. The mobile app version lets me add expenses on the go.

Don't most folks just look at their latest ATM transaction receipt? :D

My money manager program these days is "Peter and Paul" :eek:

Don't most folks just look at their latest ATM transaction receipt? :D

My money manager program these days is "Peter and Paul" :eek:

I tend to agree, this is over analyzing a bit.

Set up a long term savings account, ideally an offset account to some non-deductible debt such as your home loan. The CBA has 'sub' accounts which can do this really well. Other lenders will allow you to set up secondary accounts if structured cleverly.

Move money into this savings account on a regular basis, don't take money out. If you find yourself with a surplus every pay cycle, move more money. Do this on a regular basis and you know you're getting ahead.