My first reno...need help

Hi All,

I want to add a new bathroom and a new bedroom to my 3 bedda, single bathroom IP.

The old garage was made into a room that is not used by the tenants. Its large enough to fit a bathroom and house a 4th bedda.

This is my first time, so I have no idea how to proceed. Is there a "one-stop" shop for this kind of thing? Plumbing, electrical etc etc. The house is near logan, in berrinba, but Im not sure how to begin.

First, how much does it cost (roughly) to add a bathroom with cheap tiles and vanities?

Secondly, what contractors do I search for to try and assess a quote for the entirety of the works that I am looking to have done?

When I installed a bathroom at the rear of my house it cost me $5,000. But my plumbing etc was already in, so only the shower, tiling and new toilet needed to be installed.

First you need to find out whether you can change the garage to a livable area. Flooring, head height etc. That is if you want it to be legal.

The hardest part is the plumbing. Get a plumber (if you can) to give you a quote on getting the plumbing done. How far is the existing plumbing for the garage (water, sewage)? If sewage is difficult maybe just put a shower and vanity.

The rest of the stuff is easy. Few stud walls then waterproof the bathroom, tile.

Hi Travel bug,

Sorry I dont understand. If you cant have sewage connected to the bathroom, where does the water from the shower go out to?

Last edited:
This is my first time, so I have no idea how to proceed. Is there a "one-stop" shop for this kind of thing?
If you are after a "one-stop" shop, then 'let your fingers do the walkin' and hit the Yellow Pages. Look under "building contractors--alterations, extensions & renovations"
http://www.yellowpages.com.au/searc...+renovations&locationClue=Logan+QLD&x=62&y=21
This search brings up a total of 82 contractors in the Logan area.

First, how much does it cost (roughly) to add a bathroom with cheap tiles and vanities?