Negotiating split commission

Hi, I am not experienced at selling commercial property but have one for sale around $7m+ in a Melb industrial area.

What would a reasonable percentage for split commission be on this amount, agent had it before...no sale, so I want to use 2 agents, original agent wants to increase commission if split.

Dealing with national agents.

Any feedback on this would be a great help.

Cheers all

Providing that you are not under contract with the old agent, why would you split the commission?

Both agencies could have the listing on a non exclusive basis and ensure that you are happy to pay or not depending on the case on cost and the way that they market the property.

Which agencies are you talking to as some have synergies and some do not.

In the 22a's I've signed, to get commission the agent has to be the 'effective cause of sale'. i.e. No split. I'd look at those conditions very carefully before signing either of them up.

Unless of course you feel you have some kind of moral obligation to the first agent?

Just to clarify, what I am asking is what percentage of sale commission should I negotiate on this as a whole.

First agent had property, now 2 agents working together so what sales commission would you find reasonable ie 2% or less...

The larger companies do it as 150% of the commission with 100% going to the primary agent and the 50% going to the second if they have introduced an buyer.

Does this help?

The larger companies do it as 150% of the commission with 100% going to the primary agent and the 50% going to the second if they have introduced an buyer.

Does this help?

I think that's wildly different to what North just asked.

He's talking about the total commission payable as a percentage of the sale price. Asking because it might be a different TOTAL commission % when there is more than one agent involved.

Sorry, I don't know the answer.