New to forum, Saying hello and a bit about myself

Hi, I thought that I'll introduce my self.

I'm in my late twenties, single and what I guess you'd call a 'casual' factory worker with limited future job prospects.

Early last year I decided that I had to start thinking seriously about moving out of home (was living with my dad) to gain some more independence. My goal was to save for a deposit and buy a house. I realised after working in casual positions anywhere from 3 months to a year that I couldn't rely on finding a permanant secure job. I felt some what dienchanted about life and how times had changed since my parents days etc. Back then it was a lot easier to hook up with a job that would last a life time.

Last year I started working in a factory where I met a number of interesting people. After mentioning that I wanted to buy a house, I was given all sorts of advice. The problem I guess was that a lot of these people were all talk but no action. One bloke in particular gave me a tip regarding a book - Rich dad poor dad. I went home that day and downloaded an ebook version and started reading. I can say honestly that it definately changed my way of looking at life. It's a shame that the bloke who gave me the advice didn't use it himself. He had a gambling problem and beleived he could make a fortune playing poker at the casino. Other people I worked with I though were really in the know, but then I discovered that they didn't even own one investment property and planned on investing later. A few other's that I met also had the philosophy of doing it 'later'.

Anyhow All my life I had been given good advice but rarely took it. I just wasn't ready for it. I know that I'm not that old at 29 but I'm feeling a bit of a squeeze knowing that my future in a factory is limited. Currently I have a few weeks off because of a Hernia that I got at work. How long can a body physically work for - 10 years, 20, 30?

Realizing all this I have become determined to make investing in property work for me. I only discovered this forum recently and have found it full of very usefull advice. Also I went on a buying spree on eBay and have around a dozen property investing books aswell as about three years worth of Aust Property investor magazines.

So my plan was to buy a house but I felt discouraged with the thought of staying in a job for at least a year so as to get a loan. Around mid last year my dad was arranging a loan for a block of land in 'millicent' and whilst he was doing that he mentioned my situation - working casual jobs etc. The bank person said for me to start saving straight away and that times have changed and that I only have to be in a casual job for 6 months or so to get a loan.

Well that was it, I started putting most of my money aside and finally paid of the credit card after 10 years.

I started researching the market in my area. I spent countless hours on the internet and quite a few weekends checking out open inspections. At one of these inspections the agent told me that they had access to a broker that could arrange a loan for me. Normally I'd had thanked her for her offer etc and said that I'm 'just looking' but for some reason I just let it all go on auto pilot and accepted her offer.

A few days later to my suprise I had an appointment booked with the mortgage broker. Things had started to move - no backing out now..

Anyhow, after doing the reaserch for a few months I was starting to develop the 'analysis paralysis' as some of you might say. One morning I saw a brand new listing on the net. It was a 'semi detached ex housing trust property in my local area (23km from Adelaide CBD). I jumped on it. I was confident enough now that it was the right thing for me. I new that I shouldn't over commit and buy something for my max loan amount that was offered to me (~190k) and this they wanted only $135k+. I had managed to save around 7k so far, but realised that the FOH would help considerably.

So I rang the agent on Saturday morning. She was somewhat suprised as the listing was only put up the evening before. I aranged a time to check it out later that day. I looked at the place for 15 minutes only as she was in a rush to get to an open- I made a offer for 125k a few hours later. And that was that. Yes I was nervous signing the 'written offer' but I knew that I had to move on and learn from the experience. The bloke selling the place wanted to do a bit more renos himself but after looking at his dreadfull painting job I told the agent, leave the work how it is and take 125k. The offer was accepted. Soon I had another appointment with the mortgage broker to finalise everything. I went for a 5 year IO fixed for 3 years @ 7.24% with the CBA.

I went with the CBA because at the time I hadn't quite worked for 6 months in my job and providing that I payed a larger deposit, the CBA didn't care if I worked for 3 months or 12. Originally the broker recommended ING bank with 3% deposit - but they were stricter in regards to employment..

December last year I took possesion of the house. I had to live in it for 6 months and claim the first home owners grant. I'm still living in the house right now. Probably spending up to 10k in renovations. Brand new flat pack kitchen. Ducted cooling on the roof, new doors in all the rooms, new paint job inside and out and polished floor boards. All work done by my dad and I. Huge learning curve. I realised that you constantly get unpleasent suprises whilst renovating... Oh well.

My aim is to refinance the house at the end of the six months and get a LOC of about 10-15k so as to purchase my next property. Move back in with my dad and rent this place out for $180+pw. My house is valued at $139k with the council. Most houses of simmilar calibre in my neighbourhood are being sold / under contract for around $150-160k. I'm still reading up about all this but figure if the bank can value the house for $150k and a LVR of say 90% that would give me a LOC of around $14k (loan of $135k-$121k). I hope this goes to plan, but I'm a lot more confident after reading this forum.

My plan is to buy up as cheap as possible, ugliest on the nicest street- up to 30km north of the CBD. Repaint and do minor renovations, bump up the rent and see how it goes for a few months, then refinance again, and so forth. In the mean time work in my factory jobs (maybe arvo shift) and save as much as possible.

If I can get two places per year, I'll be happy. I'll be happy with more though ie 3 per year for the firt few years whilst I can keep the cash flow happening through work. In theory, If I can get 10 properties to double in price and then sell half of them off to pay the other half off (and live in one).

At todays prices (without cpi) I could basically be on $500-$1000 of income per week - for the rest of my life. Sounds like a plan :)

So that's a bit about my self and my plan for the future.

Inspiration

Wow...what a great story...i am really inspired by that... well done...be patient and it will happen!!

congratulations

Good on yer Pete! You have thought this plan through very well, and now started putting it into practise. Congrats on being a property owner!:)

Pete.

Welcome to the forum, fantastic story, congratulations not only on your first purchase but also on your mindset, you certainly are heading in the right direction. I suspect you may have purchased somewhere around the elizabeth area , am I correct?

If this is the case you may want to read a story from a book called "ordinary millionares" by Jim McNight, chapter 4 is about a chap that bought multiple properties in "elizabeth" and went on to become a multi property millionare. Its a great story, motivated me to buy some "cheapies"

Look foward to hearing about your next purchase, keep us posted!

Karina

Yep, excellent story.

I see such places in SE QLD at the moment. Suburbs with a bit of a reputation but units + thouses well south of the 200k mark, attracting decent yields that are still rising. If you have the time and skill to go in and add a bit of sweat equity and purchase and research well your investing risk from these type of purchases would be about as low as you can get, with healthy upside potential. Property rocks in this country as it's regarded so highly by those controlling the $$.

Typical garbage about housing affordability problems for young people in the Courier Mail this weekend, and yes affording a 'median priced' house even on 2 incomes is a stretch for a young couple compared to what it was at times in the past... But you can still get cheap (say 150-160k in SE QLD) stuff as a stepping stone if expectations are lowered a tad.

Well done Pete!

Thanks people for the encouragement.

Karina I'll have to check that book out for sure. I think it's important to keep motivated as there is a lot of negativity around when you mention investing to ordinary folk.

The house I'm in now is in Salisbury north, in a section that has been heavily redeveloped over the last ten years. Basically the whole area was full of semi detached places but I'd say more than 2 thirds have been demolished and replaced with new houses, the rest have been fixed up considerably ie newer bathrooms, polished floor boards. Prices are still going up in this area and are becoming abit too dear for me now. I'll focus on the elizabeth, daveron park, smithfield area now as it still has much future growth and bargain prices. Some of the houses in the area around 'Peachey Road' are really ghetto like, ie I remember seeing three burnt out semi's just on one street. A haven for drug addicts etc. But the government has said that they are going to redevelop the whole area around the 'Peachey Belt' asap over the next 10 years. If it's going to look anything like Salisbury North (Hawkesbury Park) then it's definately a good long term investment.

Andrew A, yeah I've started to 'insulate' my self from all the stuff I've been hearing in the media. I feel sorry for young people who take the media as being fact etc

There are so many so called experts out there - no body knows for sure how the housing market is going to go. All I know is if I start listening to all the bad news etc then my focus is just going to waver.

There is so much info out there, more than enough to make a good judgement. After reading one of Jan's first books I went onto reading Steve's McKnights 'from 0 to 130'. Half way through the book I became really disilusioned with the whole cg and -ve gearing thing due to the different method Steve was proposing. I've since taken a step back and looked at the two options ie +ve and -ve gearing and have made my own plan for my situation etc. It just made me realise that there are many different strategies and not any one is the 100% only way to do it.

I'm glad I listened to this one realestate agent when he told me not to over spend on my first place. He told me of meeting many people who have dug holes for them selves because they bought their dream homes straight away. Like I said I could have bought a property for $190K, the rental yield would have been pretty ordinary and I would have been trapped with extra repayments.

Here I am sounding like an expert now :D

cheers peeps

Thanks people for the encouragement.

It just made me realise that there are many different strategies and not any one is the 100% only way to do it.

Here I am sounding like an expert now :D

cheers peeps

Pete, I really enjoyed reading your story. It is very inspirational. I'm sure we will be reading about your successes again very soon. I'm so impressed that you've started (unlike your friends) and got such an impressive plan.

I also like the way that you've worked out really quickly that there are so many different ways of investing in property. Not just one way. (Took me ages to work that out).

All the best, regards Jason.

Pete,

Good luck with it all and just remember that things can get tough at times, however just keep plodding on. Time is a wonderfull thing.

I am too are new on this forum. It a great forum and I am sure you will learn heaps here.

Nice Bunch here for the most part.

I have 2 IP and one PPOR. Also have a house in Philippines. I came back to OZ last year with nothing, in the last 8 months I have managed to get all of the properties above. Just takes guts and determination, which seems you have

Well done Pete !
As you have now realised, it is most important to filter out the garbage spruiked by workmates, family etc. from the facts. It is a mechanism for people who have sat on the sidelines their whole lives to sh**can everything that has made others successful, this way, they can justify why THEY didn't invest. The best thing you can do is discuss your wealth plans, ideas, visions, dreams with like-minded people who have the same common destination as you. This forum is certainly a great place to start. There are so many people out there who tell others what they should be investing in, only to find out that they are blowing their entire wage on crap. Keep up the great work and look forward to many good contributions from you.

JIM

Pete, Welcome to the forum and congratulations on a job well done,
Keep up the good work and remember not to over extend yourself.

Great Intro Pete! and well done.

My wife and I are from canberra but we own an IP in Smithfield and are building another at the moment in Smithfield Plains. I reckon u are on a winner with your strategy.

jase

hey pete,
fantastic story. you have discipline, resilience, and the courage to 'think big' - three pretty rare characteristics, that will always serve you well... good on ya! :)

I think it's important to keep motivated as there is a lot of negativity around when you mention investing to ordinary folk.
Congratulations on your first buy. Your story gave me shivers whilst reading it.

Keep reading books, talking to like minded people that are doing the same thing themselves and learning, learning, learning. You will have your second property in no time.

As per your comment above, you will soon find that you can't talk property investment to everyone. You will pick and choose the people you talk to. There have been threads before on this forum in regards to it and normally non-investors come across thinking we are greedy (seems to be the normal comment).

I look forward to hearing more.

But hang on, isnt it impossible for young people on a low wage to get into the property market these days?

I saw it in the papers, and on A Current Affair...

Congrats!

Well done pete_pumpkin - you're an inspiration!

As per your comment above, you will soon find that you can't talk property investment to everyone. You will pick and choose the people you talk to.
True, though I think there might be a generational difference creeping in. Though my sample size is small, the under 30s seem more receptive than people of their parents generation. Bear in mind they've not known non-capitalist alternatives and didn't grow up with '60s slogans like 'all property is theft' or the '70s welfare state.

At the other end of the age scale, 60-70 year olds might be regretting the opportunities they had to buy property (but didn't) so might also be sympathetic to young people doing so (since it goes back to 'old-fashioned' concepts like responsibility).

tubs said:
But hang on, isnt it impossible for young people on a low wage to get into the property market these days?

I saw it in the papers, and on A Current Affair...

Ah but the sensation mongers don't or won't learn The 25% Rule that lets you service property for one quarter the price that the above misinformed media sources claim it costs:

The 25% Rule is this:

1. Buy properties priced at 50% of the city's median

2. Rent out the above at the usual 5-6% rental yield

After tax it should cost one quarter (or less) of what is reported as average payments on average property (which are claimed to be unaffordable).