OTP - Queens Rd Melbourne

Recently I have been considering an off the plan apartment as my first property purchase. I am an Australian, working in the middle east, and am scheduled to return to my job in Melbourne in February 2013.

I have been looking at the Monarc Apartments on Queens Rd Melbourne, opposite Albert Park. The particular apartment is a 1bed + study, 1 bath, with a car park on the ground floor, 56sqm, 21sqm patio. It is North facing, and the neighbouring building is 12m away, and 7 stories. The developer is asking $490k, fixed.

The estimated completion is "mid-late 2013" which fits in pretty well with my return, and I would plan on living in the apartment at least initially, with the intention of holding it long term, and later renting it out as my needs change.

The appeal to me is getting into the market, as I have the 10% deposit, though as I am now a non resident for tax purposes, I would require a 20% deposit for an established property, plus extra stamp duty. While the extra 10% wouldn't take me too long to save, I would prefer to put that towards my outstanding loan which I took for my education. I am able to afford the extra debt as I have quite a well paying job (online calculators quote my borrowing capacity to be approx. $840k), though I obviously don't have the deposit saved to do this.

Some of the questions I have are:
Does the price seem reasonable?
If anyone is familiar with the project, what is your opinion of it?
Overall opinion of otp developments in this area?
Do buyers make money off these kind of developments? or is that rare?
Can someone point me in the direction of information as to how much stamp duty I would actually be liable for?

Any other constructive comments or tips would be much appreciated, as I am keen to make the right decision here and have my bases covered as best I can before I take the plunge!

Thanks in advance