Over Coming Sea Sickness

I used to be OK until I had an ear operation, now I get sea sick when the boat is not moving forward.

I find by taking a ginger tablet for a few days in the run up to a trip does seems to calm the vagus nerve which is "the main culprit" for sea sickness.

The vagus nerve loves ginger and most herbal travel pills are basically just ginger, I take Blackmores and they are not very dear.

No boat involved we just went in off the wharf . Sea conditions were not ideal with a bit of surge etc . Goggles had fogged up a bit and trying to get bouyancy right , mo Jo together etc . I'm only a beginner ha ha .

Hmm ok this doesn't sound right to me.
How long were you in the water for before being sick?
Is this the first time you have been sick underwater?
How did you feel prior to being sick?
Any headache or just nausea?
Compared to your other couple of dives how was your air consumption prior to being sick?

I have vomited underwater numerous times and it can be interesting. Keep your reg in and purge as you spew - reduces the risk of a chunk getting stuck in the system.
Once you are more comfortable you can remove your reg completely while you hurl, but I wouldn't recommend this for a beginner.

I used to dive with a guy who couldn't sit on a stationary boat. We used to drive up to the site and he would be fully kitted up. As soon as the anchor dropped he would roll over the side.

In a moving vessel try and sit at the back of the boat, central, and low (but outdoors). Focus on the horizon.
On a stationary boat is when you are most vulnerable. Not much you can do. Try and be central on the boat (of possible) and focus on the horizon - or try and stay busy.

As for medication - if ginger works "a bit" start loading up on it the day before. Ginger tea, the night before etc. and then on the day go crazy with the stuff.
Ginger is the only thing I have heard of which works for severe seasickness (if anything does).

Blacky

How does that even work?