Partnership structure

I've got to a stage in my life where I'm looking at turning to property development fulltime, something I've been working towards for the last few years.

I'm a builder by trade with a carpentry and engineering background.

I'm looking at structuring a partnership with my father who's a commercial property developer, who's looking at retiring in the next few years, but start making money for himself in the caper, rather than for large conglomerates.

Basically I was putting the feelers out on here as to anyone that had undertaken this with someone else, and anything they've learnt in regards to setups and structuring and any do's and dont's. Of particular interest is the structure that maximizes borrowing capacity, especially when down the track there's multiple developments on the go.

Initially the plan is to start in 2-3 unit subdivisions, and building over the first 3-4 years possibly into apartment developments and industrial and commercial developments.

The plan is to leverage off the 6 properties my father owns and the 2 that I own, contribute deposits from our own cash, and possibly sell and try to retain a unit within each development, then once the portfolio increases leverage will purely be what has been retained from previous developments.

Any advice would be fantastic.

I have a few clients doing similar things at the moment.

Besides the more obvious things you need to consider:
- inter entity loans
- legal incapacity of one or more members of the parties and families including death, mental incapacity and insolvency
- The effects of the above on the various entities
- GST - many only consider this as an after thought!!

I have been coming across many many trusts which have no back up appointors - if the appointor dies it could be the Legal Personal Representative (such as the public trustee) that controls the trust and its assets.

Maybe consider a partnership of trusts with a common corporate trustee.