Paying someone to bid at auction?

Hi guys,

I'm having some issues at home but cannot afford to move out just yet unfortunately. To do so, I have to find a secondary income (around $400/week will cover what I need).

I used to buy and sell phones, motorbikes, laptops etc when I was in school so buying/selling goods is an option. I've also considered doing laboring jobs on the weekends.

Seeing as I work in the Real Estate industry (fully licensed REA, buyer's agent and auctioneer) I'm just wondering if there's a way I can use my passion for property to build up a secondary income.

I've seen Buyer's Agents offer services to bid at auctions for clients - just wondering if anyone has ever used this sort of service and what they generally charge? Do you think it's a commonly requested service?

If you have any other ideas for me, please feel free to throw them my way!

Thanks

Hi John

I'm sorry to hear that there at issues at home. I hope these work out for you for the best.

Can I provide a somewhat lateral viewpoint? May I suggest looking at ways in which you can further maximise your income at work? Working smarter not harder.I've found that to be more effective then trying to take on a 2nd job etc. Worth the thought.

N.

One "outside the box" idea I have read on another forum.

A lady makes a decent sideline wage helping people who have their homes for sale by decluttering and selling "stuff" on eBay/Gumtree. She gets her clients directly off realestate.com.au by just looking for new listings in her area.

She comes with an angle of "you hate moving, get rid of some stuff and make money, and by getting rid of "stuff" you make the house look better for sale.
Anything she sells on eBay is split 50/50 with the owner.