Predicting the Future -- Not.

This thread was prompted by the "success stories" post by redwing -- not redwing's post, but the stories themselves.

It's a bit pessimistic, so be warned.

I'm new to IP, having bought my first in September 2011. As part of that process I've got my hands on a lot of sales and rent data from 2001 to 2011 for Sydney and have started analysing it. (I'm a database developer and one of my skills is pattern matching and problem solving, so I'm just looking for patterns.) My aim is to predict the future. :D

I need to cut this story really short because I can go on and on... so:

Capital Growth

For a lot of Sydney metro from Umina to Casula to Penrith, the median house price looks like this:

/\/

Starting at 2001 (where my data begins) there is a peak around 2004 and a trough around 2008, plus or minus a year or two. Depending on the suburb, the last peak is either just below or just above the 2003 value. Some suburbs (eg, Granville) have already peaked and are dropping again.

For the period 2001 to 2004 properties almost doubled in value -- Granville went from 220k to 400k. In the slump between 2004 to 2008 values dropped about 15% (Granville $320k) which is not good but hardly a crash.

From what I can work out, the period 1998 to 2001 was basically steady growth, so anybody that bought before 2001 did very, very well. People that bought after 2004 have been waiting to get back to their buy price, poor sods, and those that bought poorly and paid above market are still out of pocket. People that bought at the bottom around 2009 have seen some capital growth (eg, Quakers Hill) but nothing like the good times just 5 years before, and certainly not enough to make bold negatively geared strategies look good because in many suburbs the growth has peaked and reversed a bit.

Rent Growth

In generat the charts for rental growth for houses (units I have not looked at yet) look like this:

_/