Property Managers

I just want to write something in regards to property managers, as I've noticed a lot of complaints of recent, a lot of them justified, and everyone jumps on and says change companies and get a new PM. I just want to clarify that I think should mean a new PM, and not necessarily a new company.

I'm not a property manager, but I do work a few hours a week in real estate, so have a tiny bit of insight of what happens from the PM side of things. Just because one PM is not doing their job correctly, does not automatically make that company hopeless. I would suggest complaining higher up, and only then if nothing is done, that you change companies. The reason I say this, is, I work for a reputable company with good PM's and they take any complaints very seriously. There was a short period of time where a new PM was on the scene and we received a number complaints about that person, and they no longer work there. Had all the landlords, who had a complaint, just up and left, they may not necessarily get better service elsewhere.

I don't work in real estate full time, nor do I wish to reveal where I work, so I have nothing to gain from saying this. I just don't think that landlords are necessarily doing themselves a favor by just up and leaving because of a bad experience with one PM. If the service from the company overall is poor, or you do go higher up and the problems still are not resolved, then yes of course, go elsewhere.

agree biggles.

if you have more than one ip in an area it can also help to use 2 different real estate agent companies as you get to see quite a lot of different ways things can be dealt with and if something does go horribly wrong you can bounce ideas off the other or jump ship quickly enough. works for me. :D

Agree, however, many smaller RE Agents only have one or two PMs (often a senior one and a junior one) so you know you are not going to get any better.