Protecting PPOR from Litigation

Hi everyone. I cant find anything that has answered my question so please bear with me if this has been talked about already.

Im mainly concerned with protecting my "Principal place of residence" in the event of litigation. Im a self employed contractor working in a medium to high risk profession. I operate through a Company with both my wife and I as Directors.

I carry good public liability insurance and are still concerned that someone can litigate against myself as Director and take our family home which is currently worth $700k with only a small mortgage remaining. Transfer of Stamp Duty is around $23,500.

My questions are:

1. How safe is a family trust as protection under these circumstances

2. Am I correct in thinking that I will pay CGT on any increase in value over the $700k once it is owned by the trust even though it is still my PPOR.

3. Can the Stamp duty be avoided by some sort of Declaration that it is my PPOR?

4. Am I just missing the point and there is an easier way. My main focus is on Protection. My intentions are to build up a portfolio of properties. I already have one which is also in my name.

Hiya

Im only a mug punter in the asset protection game, Dale GG and Nick M would have a better idea, but I reckon its the tyoe of trustee that you use that makes the core difference.

As a personal trustee your butt is still haning in the breeeze, since you cant sack/wind yourself up.

A Proprietary Limited Company as Trustee seems to fit that better, since I think you can wind up the Old (targetted) P/L and replace it with a new one ?

ta

rolf

Another thing to be aware of , if you hold you PPOR in a trust , is that you may be subject to land tax. In NSW there is no land tax free threshold for houses held in trusts.