Proving serviceability?

Hi guys, I'm a total finance noob so could anyone clarify?

How does one eventually prove loan serviceability to the banks once you decide to go into property full time? What I mean is that while employed it's quite easy to prove that to the banks, but once you quit (assuming you have a sizable portfolio), how would you then show proof?

Is this where +ve cashflow from passive incomes comes in? Or you put up your existing IP as collateral?

What's the missing link?
Cheers!

If you're really positive cash flow, your rental income might be enough to demonstrate serviceability for more lending.

There are some (very advanced) strategies you can employ using annuities which may help in these circumstances.

Otherwise, if you can't demonstrate that you can afford the loan, lenders won't give you the money. The simple reality is that when people get close to retirement age, it gets very difficult for them to borrow money.

Last edited:
Full time property investors - I have a few on the books.

If the portfolio is really self sufficient and throws off plenty of taxable income, OR is soaked up by depreiation, 2 years tax rtns is generally enough to get around many lenders.

If the Lvrs are over 70 to 80 % for resi and LMI is involved, its very very hard.

I guess an important thing is, what full time means.

for some thats 20 k a year, for others its 200 +

ta
rolf

It's very hard to prove serviceability on rental income alone.

Even if he the portfolio is generating decent cash flow - most lenders will still only take 80% of gross rent into account and will also assign a minimum monthly living cost which is based on the number of adults/kids in the household.

If LMI is involved then some lenders will feel uncomfortable with the scenario and may deem you as being too rent reliant (which is a bit silly because it's arguably a more secure income then a payg role if you're generating rent across a number of properties).