Purchase of Unit in Joondalup,Perth

Hello everyone,

Please excuse me if I am in the wrong area or have not fully understood instructions this is my first time on this wonderful site.

I have purchased my second IP a unit off the plans which is due to be built within 18months. Purchase price $223,900 2 bed first floor unit. Since signing I have had nothing but people tell me it is a bad investment in the type of dwelling it is and where it is (20mins from city but is a satalite city)

Not only that I have to pay $10,000 Deposit and stamp duty now ($8,000) which I have borrowed up front and am very wary of continuing this decision. Could anybody help with an honest answer especially if you know Perth if this may be a surprise good investment.
Please see details of units on website below.

http://www.trgproperties.com.au/lake_reflections/

Thankyou and I will lookforward to any help you can give me.

Best wishes"H"

g'day hrichmond

I'm no expert on either Joondalup or off the plan units, however...

It doesnt look like that big a lemon of a deal so long as;
1. It is close to recreation, transport and cafes/restarants in Joondalup
2. You have enough income to take advantage of all the depreciation (and negative gearing?) you will get.
3. Perth keeps on its current trend of strong capital growth. You have 18months lead time, this would seem enough time for the unit to show a good increase in price if capital growth stays strong over the period.

One question though, why do you have to pay stamp duty NOW ona property you wont settle or take possession of for 18 months. Are you sure you are paying this stamp duty now or is the developer taking this amount off you and holding it for 18 months on your behalf ? I dont really understand why you'd have to pay this now, but I may be wrong. Can anyone else comment on this from a WA perspective?

Anyway, 223,900 isnt that big a hole to dig yourself out of even if it doesnt all go smoothly.

Good Luck

TheBacon.