Queenslander Reno: Tips

Hi there,

I am in the process of searching/purchasing a "Queenslander" to renovate.

I am new to the QLD property market and have a couple of questions:

1) I see that a lot of people add extra bedrooms / living area to the downstairs portion of the Queenslanders - however, I am a bit unsure as to the legality of this? What are the legal requirements regarding minimum height of ceilings (etc) that I would need to consider before embarking upon something like this? Are there any other considerations that I should think about - i.e. making sure that the house isn't in a flood prone area before I try and create bedrooms that might be flooded?

2) In NSW a lot of this information can be found in the DCP's for the relevant council - what document should I be looking at in Qld that spells these requirements out?

Thanks for your help.
Regards
Nick

Hi
If it is in Brisbane, google brisbane city council and you will see a link to planning and development. then go to PD online and type in your address. This will give you the zoning local plan etc. you can access all these on the same site to see what they mean.

2.4m is min normally but looks crap in a qlder. I normally try and match the ceiling height above, udsually 2.9 or 3.0m. The lowest i have gone is 2.7 but that was in a 3 storey and the top 2 were 3.0m so not too bad.

hope that helps

hope that helps

Hi there,

I am in the process of searching/purchasing a "Queenslander" to renovate.

I am new to the QLD property market and have a couple of questions: