Random questions for country folk

Unfortunately, that's actually a misconception. People living in urban areas have better health outcomes, longer life expectancy, lower suicide rates and better mental health than people living in rural areas. I'm not sure how regional "centres" would compare to urban areas though, but I assume it'd probably be more favourable.

I thought the report was 'isolated' areas. Not 'regional'...

my daughter has just shifted onto 5 acres outside a small regional town. Absolutely love it but was worried about water usage even with 2 big tanks until she worked out that even if they have to buy water it would be far cheaper than paying the water rates at the suburban house

We've just exchanged on 10 acres and are planning to build. I timed it this morning, we are 3 mins from the absolute centre of a 22,000 pop town ... don't know if that's considered isolated, rural, regional or just damned good buying.

Also only 1hr (soon to be 40mins when bypass goes thru) from Newcastle CBD - and only 20mins from Maitland CBD.

We plan on just enjoying it as a hobby farm ... chickens, veges, orchard, a fattening lamb, a fattening steer and a couple of horses. Hubby works full time and I'm in the process of setting up a business that it mainly outsources, so I can go anywhere.

Being the area - could do B&B, art gallery, olives, grapes, fruit (berries) or dozens of other ideas ... but they are all fairly intensive and, with everything else going on, don't know that I could be bothered.

One I did look at seriously a few years back was lavender farming - but then got put onto (by the CSIRO) geranium oil farming. Apparently there is a huge demand in Europe for cosmetic bases. Could also do Tea Tree oil.

Unfortunately, that's actually a misconception. People living in urban areas have better health outcomes, longer life expectancy, lower suicide rates and better mental health than people living in rural areas. I'm not sure how regional "centres" would compare to urban areas though, but I assume it'd probably be more favourable.

I get where you're coming from, because I grew up in some pretty remote communities. But Orange/Bathurst (where my mum lives and where I would get a few acres, if I was serious) is a pretty vibrant area and has good health services. I'd rather live in and around Orange/Bathurst than in a lot of suburbs of Sydney!

Lizzie, your land sounds fantastic! Well done. This is the place you're going to build an eco-friendly house, right? I think you'll end up with something magic!

Locko, wouldn't mind hearing a bit more about your sheep one day. One other thought I had (that I will never pursue) is that I'd like to look into humane abattoirs, or specialist slaughter services. Anything that would make it the least stressful/painful as possible for the animal. My mum used to pick up our chickens and stroke them and talk to them, calm them down, before very suddenly breaking their necks. It sounds horrible, but I'm sure it was much nicer for the birds than holding them down on a chopping block. I'd gladly pay more for meat/poultry if I could know that it hadn't had a fearful, stressful end.

My mum used to pick up our chickens and stroke them and talk to them, calm them down, before very suddenly breaking their necks. It sounds horrible, but I'm sure it was much nicer for the birds than holding them down on a chopping block. I'd gladly pay more for meat/poultry if I could know that it hadn't had a fearful, stressful end.

Wow. That just bought a memory back to me. Who has seen headless chooks running around with blood gushing from their necks where their head once was after it's been chopped off? They'ed run around for a good minute sometimes. :eek:.. You wouldn't believe it unless you'd seen it.

When I was little we used to eat the roosters. The hens got to live a long and happy life laying eggs, but not so the excess roosters. You'd only keep one of two, the rest were excess and the more there were, the more trouble they caused, and so were eaten.

Pretty barbaric. But breaking their necks isn't any better I suppose?

Haven't killed any roosters for 35 years I suppose. Dad also killed sheep back then. Even milked a cow too. It's all too easy now to buy the stuff from a shop. Food is so cheap really if you value your time. I've never even had much success with veges either. It's easier to buy veges than grow them that's for sure.

Yep - I remember sneaking down to watch dad kill the old sheep for dog meat. Even after their necks were cut, they'd thrash around on the straw for a good while ... pretty gross, but didn't put me off eating meat.

I like growing my own veges - they taste better and there is something about popping out to the garden with a basket and putting at least "something" on the dinner plate ... although there will be things that I just buy from the supermarket.

Can't wait to get my herb gardens back in.

As for farming a small amount of land for profit - really you'd have to check what grows well in the area (no point in trying avocados in Tassie) and work on an intensive farming theory. Unfortunately intensive usually means labour intensive at some stage of the process - although running some exotic, organic, free range sheep/goats/pigs/game birds for the local restaurant market might work.

Spent Saturday at the Tocal field day - lurved it! Biggest field day in the Hunter. So much to drool at.

Anyhow - wouldn't believe it - but stumbled on a display by the Carthona Wiltipoll Stud. A very handsome sheep, and I am sold!

Email me if you want their details if you are interested in buying - but basically - they are wool-less, horn-less so don't need mulesing, crutching or shearing (no fly blow).

Bred for high quality meat, they are also seasonal breeders - so can leave the ram in year round - and have a high lambing survival success rate.

The owner said they were best slaughtered at around 12 month - 8 months and the cutlets etc are too small - more than 18mths and they begin to get tough.

Sounds perfect. A sheep a year.

Now - any suggestions for a steer? Was thinking Angus, but open to suggestions.

Already have the go on the chooks - Black Australorp Cross or White Leghorn Cross

Angus cross/Hereford. They call em Mickey mouses.

But really, anything so long as i ts grass fed, young (still sucking) it will be great eating especially killed quietly no stress. Sneak up and one shot then a quick bleed.

Nothing like your own killed meat, both lamb and beef and pork. Sweet nd tender and it actually has taste. Not like the crap in Coles/woollies etc. Grain fed no good.

Putting the finishing touches on the new chook pen. 12 x 5 metres and a gate out into the paddock for after they have laid eggs to pick up bugs grass etc....their natural tucker. No grain. The best eggs almost orange and once again...taste...!

That's the best thing about small acres. Fairly self sufficient.

Not sure I'd be strong enough to raise animals and then send them off to meet their maker. I'm pretty sure I'd become too attached, and end up with a bunch of pet cows/sheep.

When I was very young, we had friends who kept a pet sheep called Victor (because he was the lawn mower). He had a little tuft on the top of his head like a top knot, that they liked to dye different colours every few months :)

Fair enough Luce, different strokes.

Can still have a pet, just let the rest run in the paddock and dont get attached.

FIL had a bullock he used to plough the vege garden with, you know the walk along behind single furrow plough, and he could not bear the thought of eating him or selling him. He died a natural death on the farm.

Yet we always ate beef sourced from the farm, just not good old "Diamond" beef !!

Ya gotta eat hey...? and Id rather eat what I know has had a good life and consequent humane end.

Spent Saturday at the Tocal field day - lurved it! Biggest field day in the Hunter. So much to drool at.

Anyhow - wouldn't believe it - but stumbled on a display by the Carthona Wiltipoll Stud. A very handsome sheep, and I am sold!

Email me if you want their details if you are interested in buying - but basically - they are wool-less, horn-less so don't need mulesing, crutching or shearing (no fly blow).

Bred for high quality meat, they are also seasonal breeders - so can leave the ram in year round - and have a high lambing survival success rate.

The owner said they were best slaughtered at around 12 month - 8 months and the cutlets etc are too small - more than 18mths and they begin to get tough.

Sounds perfect. A sheep a year.

Now - any suggestions for a steer? Was thinking Angus, but open to suggestions.

Already have the go on the chooks - Black Australorp Cross or White Leghorn Cross

Hi Lizzie
Wiltipoll lamb once a year, whereas Dorpers lamb twice.

Imo Angus are the way to go at the moment, as they usually receive a premium at sale (or anything black), due to the fantastic marketing of the breed - which is odd, as red angus are exactly the same under the skin. How racist!!!

Ya gotta eat hey...? and Id rather eat what I know has had a good life and consequent humane end.

Oh, I completely agree. It's just that I'm a sucker for animals. I have a particularly bad record of bringing in strays, etc. I've brought home birds, kitten litters, sick rabbits, lost cats, etc.

I'm still a meat eater, and maybe if I had a big farm, where I didn't get to know the animals because there were a lot of them, and they were out in a back paddock, I'd be able to send them off in the truck. But on a small hobby farm, where I'd probably have to see them every day and feed them, I doubt I could do it.

But I'd happily buy a chopped-up cow from someone else's small acreage Happy Cow Peaceful Endings Farm :)

Hey - buy next door and then we can swap our Red Angus'!

I grew up on 10 acres and it was a wonderful life. My parents ran sheep (NZ) but only for the lambs - we didn't eat them (I think) although the odd old sheep ended up going to the dogs. Always had 2-3 pet lambs each year due to rejection, and they always ended up going to the sale yards with the rest ... but next year there were another 2-3 pets.

Also had chooks and dogs/cats. I loved it. Mucking around with animals, building cubbies in the swamp reeds, galloping around the paddocks and generally playing in the dirt.

Every year, where the shearer came, the local primary school would have an excursion to our place (walking distance) to watch and touch ... although the shearing was a pain to have done, there was a retired professional guy who used to do all the hobby farms and donate his earnings to charity.

I can't wait! Exchange tomorrow ... (was suppose to be last week but vendors forgot to initial a bit)

Country Life is Great!!

We did the tree change in 2006 from inner CBD Sydney and rarely looked back.

Proviso is have real income elsewhere as hobby farm is just that. A hobby.
I.e. My wife makes really good jam and sells through local stores being boutique local etc....but at best we make $6 a jar so $200 per batch every few weeks but it takes a days labor, each jar 60 cents, gas, fruit we mostly get free from barter etc..so you dont want ot be living on it.

We have more fun swapping, "barter" a jam or tow for slices of local bacon, veggies, etc..when we do market.

If I could sum up why it is so good it is like you go back 40 years (everyone cares) but live in the modern day ( phones, etc..)

Such as:

everyone is happy and healthy if not wealthy but

no one cares about class, car, status, which school you attended or which school your child is attending, we are all at the same, great school so

people are friendly with same interests, very strong local community so

we all share, help out, etc.. At this moment my daughter is "play dating" at friends place until 6pm. We get to work late. Kids are kids so....

kKds are not inner city, pretentious snobs. They have chickens, ponies, sheep, etc... but see them as nothing special (and sometimes a chore). They understand responsibility, chores, consequences. They play at farms instead of visit them at school made easier because....

Everywhere, everyshop, and everyone is 15 minutes drive and you can get a park on almost all times and by the way....

Nearest McDonald or KFC is 25minutes drive.

Overall, it is very good yet, we are 1 hr commute to Melbourne CBD. We still have late night shopping at Coles each night. Mobiles work.

FYI Peter 14.7

Proviso is have real income elsewhere as hobby farm is just that. A hobby.

Hubby is working in the mines ... and I have my own business starting to get legs ... so no probs there.

I remember it as being a great childhood - and looking forward to getting mucky again ... major regional town (pop 22k) and only 1 hour away from Newie beach/shops/football.

Dorpers great for breeding - but we're looking for ease and meat ...

no one cares about class, car, status, which school you attended or which school your child is attending

Well in the real country where I live the population is somewhat a fair bit more divided on that.

First question some folks ask is "oh, bye the way, what school did you go to...?"

And that's been the way for as long as Ive lived in the bush.

On the coast and in the city living thru my 30's and early 40's, I found people much friendlier and non pretentious and the life far more anonymously pleasant with no snobbery whatsoever. In 12 years I was never asked where I went to school...go figure.:confused:

These days I couldnt care less what people think, they can please themselves. Im as happy as a cat..!!:)

You make it what you want it to be in the end.

But agreed....a hobby farm is just that...a hobby. So just enjoy it for what it is and not what it may represent to others.

I'd love for all city people to just live in the bush for at least one year and really take it in. All that concrete and rushing around cant be good for you.:(

In saying that I take my hat off to city folk for keeping it together living under such duress.
Well done.:)

If I think of all my city slicker friends and then imagine them living in the country for 12 months, I could count on 1 hand the number that would handle it. A weekender in Leura is about as far as they'll go.

I have one that even refuses to drive to the country. She says all the open space scares her! Doesn't know what she's missing :(

Yeah wife's don't always get it.

My wife was a classic. True Story follows:

Despite growing up in regional VIC with me, 7 years in Coffs Harbour and 10 years Inner Sydney has turned her all "city princess". More Shoes and Handbags than you can poke a stick at.

And yes, I loved it too but your phases in life change. I had achieved my goals, we had made good money and all I saw was older versions of me in the same game, more money but stressed, having heart attacks at 48, never seeing the kids but working so hard so they could go the private schools to learn to be snobs.

So when Wife fell pregnant I rolled the dice and said lets move back to VIC and house hunted in the Macedon Ranges. 6 months pregnant I pulled up in front of a 145 year old classic cottage in the centre of town, ozzing position, potential, character but rustic to say the least.

She literally said, pointed to an equally old but arger home next door, "you have got to be f*#king joking!". I said actually, it is the little one next door. She said drive on, I said , investment! she said, Whatever. So I made an offer site unseen and they said yes, The only deal was a delayed settlement of 12 months.

Baby came and my wife lost all desire for the flash life, career, she wanted her family, she wanted to enjoy our child. She resented not being able to park with grocery and baby at our door, being frowned upon when she tried to go anywhere tight in the stroller. Having no common friends because they all had careers.

So we moved, Cold turkey. Sold out of SYD and did my version of Green Acres. Spent $100k on renovation. Planning new home at rear ( on old style) and have offer to run cafe/ restaurant form the classic in centre of town. Whilst I was romantic I was practical too!

Sold Alfa Romeo and got a Forester, Hilux Ute and Large Trailer. I am now excellent with Chainsaw and wear RM Williams boots at home. Wife makes jams that are sought after by local foodie delis and knots all of us scarfs. The restored home was feature in local magazine.

Friends?? We have more friends than ever before as they AND we have the time to spend with each other. Even now my wife is at a girlfriend's house for craft night when each fortnight all the mums get together to "stitch and *****" as they say. Each one of them would do anything for us if we asked. When wife's dad died 18 moths back, the offers to help in any way came thick and fast. Food, flower, child care, etc..

Often a weekend childs play date turns into drinks and then dinner at someone or our place. And no-one plans it. It just happens. Put more on the BBQ or more roast in the oven.

Downside is everyone knows you and wants to look at our house but I don't care. You are 99% guaranteed to see someone you know in town if you go and at the market day, dozens. Don't have an affair here! Critters are everywhere, Foxes get your chickens. Rats and Possums run at night.

Fun? We they party hard! Our Halloween is held at the local children park where kids and parents dress up and the kids go from parent to parent to get lollies. The local Rotary Clubs puts on free BBQ and everyone catches up. You lose sight of your kid/s but don't worry as you know everyone here is friends and watch put for each other. You simply ask where she is in and within three parents groups, one will say " other there with Jessica, Eliza and etc,". They come running up, squealing about this and that all dressed a princesses or fairies, begging not to leave.

A local fancy dress for school fund raiser was best night I had in years. Someone donated their own wine, pizza store the same, we ate and drank and danced to 80's tunes till our feet ached. No issues with the drive home as it is 15 minutes and the Coppers are dads as well and are "lenient on locals". If someone is too far gone, they can get lift and leave the car safely.

Yes, it is really cold here. Wood fires are not ornamental. At 600m high we get regular frosts and snow every now and then. Possums eat your garden and your car is muddy all the time. I never clean my Hilux. It has even parked once at the Airport fully loaded with compost.

So if, going to the Local Farmers market and actually knowing the vendors or being one is for you. Volunteering at School fete where everyone put in sounds fun. Having a pony or motorbike and time with your kids to enjoy them sounds great.

Go for it.

Best thing we ever did.

Peter 14.7

Good for you Pete!

I just realised really how good we have it in the bush.

Almost feel guilty that all those city folks slaving away fighting the rat race and here we are swanning about spending hours around the campfire eating drinking and laughing with not a care in the world.

I couldn't go back, even though I did enjoy city life but I was younger then.;)

Thoroughly recommend country life.

Hey Pete, has the speech slowed down yet? Lol!