realestate.com.au - range of price - agents view point

Not asking about how buyers set the price range , but from the agents view point , how wide can you set the search function .

If you're aiming for a selling price range of say 1.8 -2.1 , can you set the Price range so that it comes up is someone searches from 1.75 - 2.5 or can you set it to one price range only .

Thanks in advance

Cliff

G'day see change,

Agents can set the price range as you see fit.

Also,Look at a few listings,right click page and view page source.

Press ctrl + X + F and put in 'price'

Thankyou btw DT for the tip re:ctrl + X + F.

I think your suspicions may be on the mark Cliff.

I've dug into the matter in the past and from the front end, it seems to me like there are ranges that become wider as the prices become higher.

$100k brackets up til around $750k then $250k brackets then quickly up to much larger brackets in the $1mil plus range.

I'm an agent (commercial) and use realcommercial....you dont put a price range in the back end. You enter a price thats used for searches and then you enter a price (or other text) that is to be displayed on the listing.

On the commercial side of things it isnt actively policed by REA at all...I'd say they'll only pull an agent up if theres a complaint by another agent. Which does hapen every now and then on the commercial side (not for prices but for other things)

You have a public price which is what everyone can see (500k plus) and then a search price which you can have whatever you want and can be even 200k plus.

However usually they will keep it around the advertised but slightly below, unless you are wanting 1M and the agent thinks the property is worth 700k then they will put a hidden search range of 700k.

Here's a screen shot of the back end.... Not a real listing, just a dummy one to show the fields

Attachments

• REA Search.jpg
    REA Search.jpg
    69.9 KB · Views: 136