Serviced Apartments???

Hi Friends,
I am new to property investing and confused with the concept of Serviced Apartments. I was looking at one of the property and it says managed by Quest and there is no Strata or council fees.

How does this work? What is the catch?

Any help is highly appreciated.

Regards
The_One

The catch could be that the people who manage it might only rent yours out when all the ones owned by their friends (or the company) are full.

Irregular cashflow could be problematic.

I wont comment on the apartments versus houses debate. You can decide that one for yourself!

Hi Tubs,
Thanks for your reply. I understand your point however if I choose to live there then it should not be a problem right?

And about renting...Do I've to rely on them to find me tenant, can I use someone else? Would they also be deciding the amount of rent as well?

Regards
The_One

Not certain, but I'm fairly sure that the people managing it for you find you the tenants. Dont think you do that yourself.

Someone else on here might be able to clarify.

I think you would have to check the contract.
I have one where I can pull out of the management company and manage myself if I wish but have to give 90 days notice. At the moment though I am still receiving 6.5% net return from rents so I will let them keep going, saves me some work.

Cheers

As far as I know the Quest apartments are totally managed by them, I believe you cannot live in them

I looked at some in Williamstown and was told by the Agent that they had been on the market for over a year whereas normal apartments were selling like crazy and increasing at the rate of $5k every 2 months whereas the Quest apartments were stagnant.

Part of the problem was that mortgages were only available up to 60% which restricted the resale value.

If you were after cashflow then are are great as long as you do not want to resell or are looking for capital gains

Chris