Sydney Units or House? Help Please

Hi there
I'm new at this game so I'm going with a well-known Byers agent in Sydney that has more of an idea is getting wealthy in real estate than I.

He has recommended a well positioned apartment with good potential for long-term capital growth and good rental yield will perform as well as, if not better than some houses.

I have got approved finance of 600,000 and we haven’t talked about location yet (Sydney somewhere)

All the books and data I have read say house is better, my goal is to purchase as many IP as I can so latter in life I can take it easy.
I like the idea of adding value in the IP and thus increasing it's value

Your comment or links would very much be appreciated

Stephen

Hi Stephen

A thought or two:

Why Sydney?

Especially when you say you want to add value, surely it would be easier if your IP was closer to home.

And have you considered getting two IPs instead of one more expensive one?

Houses and units each have their fans, it is more a matter of deciding which suits you better. Yes, the land does appreciate, but you usually have more maintenance issues with houses which is another bother when your IP is interstate.
Marg

I agree with marg,
two properties would have more advantages, why not hedge your bets and get one house and one unit. If you want to do a renovation maybe it would be better to do one at a time rather than doing two at once.
In the end go with your gut feeling. There is probably no right or wrong, just good and better. I would suggest the type of property should, after the renovation, be one that people want and can afford to live in. It will allways find a tenant or buyer.

thank you for the reply, well Sydeny hasn't done much for a whilst and people in the profession say its at the bottom of the cycle,
Yes I have offeten thought about why not two IP and not one IP, well the way i see it is, Two IP is two lots of fees but using the same amount of funds at the end of the day

Stephen