Take advantage of FHOG or straight IP loan?

Hi all – I have been sitting on my 1st property deposit for a frustrating 2+ years because of a poor paying job hindering my borrowing power and ability to service a loan. I’ve now scored a higher paying job and I’d like to move forward.

I see two pathways in front of me, I’d like to run them past you to see what the consensus is and check I haven't missed anything.

My position:

• $95,000 Cash in the bank (to cover deposit and fees associated with the purchase.)

• $80-85k gross annual income
  • Eligible for First Home Owners Grant & stamp duty savings (buying in Victoria) as well as Defence Home Ownership Assistance Scheme (basics explained below.)
  • Hoping to buy something in the 425-450k price range.

Option 1:

Purchase as a Primary Place of Residence, accrue:
  • $7,000 FHOG
  • some stamp duty savings
  • $11,000 tax free dollars as part of the Defence Home Owners Assistance Scheme
  • receive approx. $200 a month towards the mortgage for the first 24ish months of the loan from Defence.
  • The interest rate payable would be the NAB’s standard variable rate less a .7% discount for Defence loans.

I’d live in the house for the minimum period required to meet FHOG requirements and then convert it to an IP. I may have to refinance the loan as a result of the change in circumstances when the property becomes an IP.

Option 2:

Purchase IP, go through a broker and get the best loan available (possibly a significantly better deal than NAB?) Forego grants..

Are there any reasons why Option 2 makes sense? (..besides avoiding the stuff-around of moving into the place for six months and having to stay active in the Army Reserves for the time being.)

Any thoughts appreciated:)