Tax accountant or not

Hi everyone

Just wanting to see the experience of others with tax accountants and the benefits.

How useful are tax accountants? I've used an accountant before for simple tax returns, didn't seem to get any benefit (well it was a simple tax return I could have done it myself) was charged for quite a bit in my opinion for tax returns that had errors (note the plural) and near zero customer service. Didn't seem to get any benefit in going to an accountant.

Now as a novice investor (not many properties or complex investments) who earns a decent wage but not exactly a high income earner (under $100k) is there still any benefit of a tax accountant? As it seems only really high income earners seem to benefit from a tax accountant?

Does everyone benefit from a good tax accountant and how? Does anyone want to share how the benefited? How did you make use of your tax accountant? So far I've had zero return in investment.

Any good ones in Sydney?

I'm a novice and haven't exactly been impressed with the ones I've met before, so you could say I'm a bit skeptic. Would love to hear from all you seasoned investors out there.

A good* accountant should be able to save you at least his fees for service (or multiples of it), otherwise why would anyone use one?

Also you won't know what you don't know if you never use one.

(*not all accountants are good)

I regret not using one earlier.
A good one that is, like any industry, most don't have a clue, or are not property oriented.

I am 26, on a good income though, I just recieved my 2011-12 tax return putting $7k in my pocket. This was the year I purchased my first IP which is a 50 year old fibro house.

I was aware of most of the deductions due to researching it previously, however with some consultation they added about $2k.

Looking forward to my 2012-13 FY return as I purchased 2 more, newer properties that year.