Total Newbie- Advice sought to buy in Melbourne.

Hello all!
i have been silently reading and lurking for a while and had a few questions to pose for our own maiden voyage. Haha.

My partner and I are looking to get serious about buying a house in Melbourne later this year/early next.
We currently rent in Laverton and both work in the CBD but travel isn't too much of a big deal for us.
Primarily we want somewhere to make home, we would like a decent sized block, not miles from transport and with half decent broadband access as OH works from home as a software developer. We don't mind doing a bit of work on a place but cant make a full time job of it as we already have one of those each, haha.

What's throwing me is where to look to get a bit of value for money. We would like to pay about 400k tops and would love if we could add some value as we go and make a bit back at the end.
We could make ourselves happy most anywhere, and as thus have considered a few places so far, Footscray being one, for proximity to the city, Bacchus Marsh as we've always had a thing for the town (and OH is mad for the NBN connectivity) and Laverton/Hoppers Xing even as far as Malmsbury and Warrandyte, so we really are totally open and not sure where to start. Seems the more you read the harder it gets to know your butt from elbow, so the saying goes.

Also as neither of us have owned anything before we would be eligible for first home buyers, which I believe is only on new homes.
is there any value in those estates you see popping up everywhere for incredibly cheap pre-fab style, cookie cutter-esque homes or are you pretty much piddling money away getting into one of those?
We had considered building but at this point we aren't sure how to go about it, nor the first step so while its not off the table, its just hanging out with the rest of the rabble in our collective heads. haha.

Any and all suggestions would be lovely!
Thanks!
Steph.